+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Spin The Dawn : The Blood Of Stars - Elizabeth Lim

Spin The Dawn

The Blood Of Stars

Paperback Published: 9th July 2019
ISBN: 9780593118443
Number Of Pages: 416
For Ages: 12+ years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

We are temporarily out of stock. More copies are on order with our supplier. Your order will be allocated from this new delivery. Click here for more delivery details.

Earn 36 Qantas Points
on this Book

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

About the Author

Elizabeth Lim grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she was raised on a hearty diet of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Before becoming an author, Elizabeth was a professional film and video game composer, and she still tends to come up with her best book ideas when writing near a piano. An alumna of Harvard College and the Juilliard School, she now lives in New York City with her husband and her daughter.

Industry Reviews

"Spin the Dawn is pure magic. Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment." -Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked

"What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." - Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter

"Part epic adventure, part fairy tale, and part Project Runway, Spin the Dawn is a thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery." - Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

ISBN: 9780593118443
ISBN-10: 0593118448
Series: The Blood Of Stars
Audience: Children
For Ages: 12+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 416
Published: 9th July 2019
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.0 x 13.9  x 3.1
Weight (kg): 0.42

Earn 36 Qantas Points
on this Book