+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus - Julian Fellowes

Snobs/Past Imperfect Omnibus

Paperback

Published: 1st September 2011
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
$25.95

Two Sunday Times bestsellers in one from the creator of Downton Abbey.

SNOBS:

Edith Lavery, the attractive only child of a middle-class accountant, leaves behind her dull job when she manages to bag one of the most eligible bachelors in town. But is life amongst the aristocracy really all that it seems...

PAST IMPERFECT:

Damian Baxter is very, very rich. But he has one concern: who should inherit his fortune. A letter from an ex-girlfriend suggests Damian may have fathered a child, but the letter is anonymous. Finding the truth will not be easy - and the only man who can help is Damian's sworn enemy...

About the Author

Julian Fellowes is a writer, actor, director, producer and TV presenter. His acting credits include the role of Lord Kilwillie in Monarch of the Glen, as well as film roles in Shadowlands, Damage and Tomorrow Never Dies. His TV writing credits include the immensely successful Downton Abbey and BAFTA nominated The Prince and the Pauper, which he also produced. His first cinema screenplay, Gosford Park, won the Oscar for Best Original Screenplay. He also wrote the screenplay for The Young Victoria. His debut as a director, Separate Lies, was released to acclaim in 2006. Julian is married to Emma, nee Kitchener and they have one son, Peregrine. Julian Fellowes became a life peer in 2010.

"Like a visit of an English country estate: breezy, beautiful, and charming." - "The" "New York Times Book Review" "[A] guilty pleasure of a novel [that] seems authentic down to the wallpaper and the Wellingtons. Hilarious sharp, entertaining, and unforgiving."- Anna Quindlen ""Snobs," by Julian Fellowes, is an hilariously snobbish novel about hilariously snobbish people involved in a society scandal. Froth at its best. His writing is as stylish as his story. Mr. Fellowes knows his turf well."- Dominick Dunne"I couldn't put "Snobs" down: Who could resist a great story of a beautiful, ambitious girl on her climb to the turreted top of the castle-hopping set? As witty as he is smart, Julian Fellowes is the Oscar-winning, Oscar Wilde of the minute." - Plum Sykes "Julian Fellowes's witty, wise depiction of the lives and lunacies of upper-class English life is just my cup of tea...."- Jane Stanton Hitchcock ""Snobs" is everything you wo " Like a visit of an English country estate: breezy, beautiful, and charming." - "The" "New York Times Book Review" " [A] guilty pleasure of a novel [that] seems authentic down to the wallpaper and the Wellingtons. Hilarious... sharp, entertaining, and unforgiving." - Anna Quindlen ""Snobs," by Julian Fellowes, is an hilariously snobbish novel about hilariously snobbish people involved in a society scandal. Froth at its best. His writing is as stylish as his story. Mr. Fellowes knows his turf well."- Dominick Dunne" I couldn' t put "Snobs" down: Who could resist a great story of a beautiful, ambitious girl on her climb to the turreted top of the castle-hopping set? As witty as he is smart, Julian Fellowes is the Oscar-winning, Oscar Wilde of the minute." - Plum Sykes "Julian Fellowes's witty, wise depiction of the lives and lunacies of upper-class English life is just my cup of tea...."- Jane Stanton Hitchcock ""Snobs" is everything you would hope for from the writer of "Gosford Park," A delicious thoroughbred delight, a guilty treat that is awake to every maddening and appallingly attractive nuance of English social life. The novel somehow contrives to be moral without being preachy or losing for a minute its gracefully shameless delight in the well bred and their satellites. A kind of Louis Auchincloss for our times, Julian Fellowes has written a book that is destined to grace all the bedside tables of all the better houses in the land."- Stephen Fry "This is the kind of book Edith Wharton would have written if she were around today."- Arnold Scaasi ""Snobs" is aninsightful, funny satire of English upper-crust country life in the tradition of Mitford or Waugh....The best chick-lit book of the season was written by a man."- "The Globe and Mail" "Sparklingly rompish...As long as this world does still exist, Fellowes is a delectable guide to its absurdities."- "Sunday Times" (London) "Illustrated with some cherishably nasty, "Gosford Park"--style scenes of aristocratic point-scoring, and far more illuminating than a copy of Correct Form...one of those books one imagines being sent up to Balmoral...where it will be proclaimed divinely funny and quite amazingly true to life."- "The Guardian" "Deliciously waspish satire..."Snobs" is terrific entertainment, deepened by the sad ache of truth."- "Literary Review" "Fellowes's attractive, faintly cynical voice has overtones of Trollope, Waugh, and Mitford."- "The Independent" "A delicious comedy of manners on the nuances of English social life, which raises laughter and an occasional wince of recognition."- "Daily Mail" "Provocative, titillating, and seductive...Julian Fellowes tells this anachronistic morality tale with such wit, verve, elegance, and schadenfreude that it never loses momentum."- "The Spectator" "Fellowes doesn't try to hide his love of the funny, sealed, above-stairs world of dukes, duchesses, marquesses, nusery maids, herbaceous borders, and breakfast kedgeree under its own silver lid, all of which is what makes "Snobs" such a good, fresh read."- "Telegraph"

ISBN: 9781780220239
ISBN-10: 1780220235
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 864
Published: 1st September 2011
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 13.0  x 5.3
Weight (kg): 0.58
Edition Number: 1