+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Small Worlds : Small Worlds - HOFFMAN ALAN

Small Worlds

Small Worlds

Paperback

Published: 1st May 1999
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $27.45
$24.75
10%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 21st June 2011
Format: ePUB
RRP $14.35
$12.50
13%
OFF

The first two novels in Allen Hoffman's critically acclaimed series "Small Worlds" are now available in paperback.

The first volume, Small Worlds, takes place in 1903 and introduces the wondrous rebbe of Krimsk, a small Hasidic settlement in Eastern Europe. Secluded in his study for the past five years, the beloved rebbe suddenly emerges on the eve of Tisha B'Av, the holiday commemorating the destruction of the holy Temple in Jerusalem. His congregants are overjoyed to see him, but their joy is to be short-lived, for this holiday at the dawn of the 20th century will be marked by strange and momentous events that will change their lives forever.

Praise for Small Worlds: "Allen Hoffman tells a great story. Krimsk...is a wild place, reminiscent of nothing so much as a religiously intense version of Gabriel Garcia Marquezs imaginary village of Macondo in One Hundred Years of Solitude." - Commentary "There's magic in Hoffman's first novel...It's much in the tradition of Sholem Aleichem and Isaac Bashevis Singer, but with a contemporary edge." - Detroit Free Press "Every few years readers devoted to Jewish literature...can lift their eyes from the page and whisper, This is it. This I will savor. Such is the case with Small Worlds." - Jerusalem Post - A selection of the Jewish Book Club

ISBN: 9780789205827
ISBN-10: 0789205823
Series: Small Worlds
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 280
Published: 1st May 1999
Publisher: Abbeville Press Inc.,U.S.
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 19.3 x 12.4  x 2.54
Weight (kg): 0.29