+612 9045 4394
Six Easy Pieces : Essentials of Physics Explained by Its Most Brilliant Teacher  - Matthew Sands

Six Easy Pieces

Essentials of Physics Explained by Its Most Brilliant Teacher

Paperback Published: 14th April 2011
ISBN: 9780465025275
Number Of Pages: 176
For Ages: 18+ years old

Other Formats

Share This Book:


RRP $19.99
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book

Intended for as wide an audience as possible, this book reprints the six easiest chapters from Feynman's celebrated Lectures on Physics which the Nobel Prize-winning scientist delivered from 1961 to 1963 at the California Institute of Technology.

About the Author

Richard P. Feynman was Richard Chace Tolman Professor of Theoretical Physics at the California Institute of Technology. He was awarded the 1965 Nobel Prize for his work on the development of quantum field theory. He was also one of the most famous and beloved figures of the twentieth century, both in physics and as a public intellectual.

good read


good ,interesting and informative

western australia


Six Easy Pieces

5.0 1


Publisher's Notep. vii
Introductionp. ix
Special Prefacep. xix
Feynman's Prefacep. xxv
Atoms in Motionp. 1
Introductionp. 1
Matter is made of atomsp. 4
Atomic processesp. 10
Chemical reactionsp. 15
Basic Physicsp. 23
Introductionp. 23
Physics before 1920p. 27
Quantum physicsp. 33
Nuclei and particlesp. 38
The Relation of Physics to Other Sciencesp. 47
Introductionp. 47
Chemistryp. 48
Biologyp. 49
Astronomyp. 59
Geologyp. 61
Psychologyp. 63
How did it get that way?p. 64
Conservation of Energyp. 69
What is energy?p. 69
Gravitational potential energyp. 72
Kinetic energyp. 80
Other forms of energyp. 81
The Theory of Gravitationp. 89
Planetary motionsp. 89
Kepler's lawsp. 90
Development of dynamicsp. 92
Newton's law of gravitationp. 94
Universal gravitationp. 98
Cavendish's experimentp. 104
What is gravity?p. 107
Gravity and relativityp. 112
Quantum Behaviorp. 115
Atomic mechanicsp. 115
An experiment with bulletsp. 117
An experiment with wavesp. 120
An experiment with electronsp. 122
The interference of electron wavesp. 124
Watching the electronsp. 127
First principles of quantum mechanicsp. 133
The uncertainty principlep. 136
Indexp. 139
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780465025275
ISBN-10: 0465025277
Audience: General
For Ages: 18+ years old
For Grades: 9+
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 176
Published: 14th April 2011
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.9 x 14.0  x 1.3
Weight (kg): 0.18
Edition Number: 1
Edition Type: Revised

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by