Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Shitty Craft Club : A Club for Gluing Beads to Trash, Talking about Our Feelings, and Making Silly Stuff - Sam Reece

Shitty Craft Club

A Club for Gluing Beads to Trash, Talking about Our Feelings, and Making Silly Stuff

By: Sam Reece, Lizzie Darden (Photographer)

Hardcover | 17 November 2023

At a Glance

Hardcover


RRP $55.00

$38.75

30%OFF

or 4 interest-free payments of $9.69 with

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
Shitty Craft Club is a uniquely empowering guide that allows burnt-out, pressured people to accept their imperfections and find inner calm with whatever shitty thing they can make.

Did you know that you are a glorious and incredible artist? Wait, really? Well, you are. Through silly and deeply relatable tales from her life, Sam Reece, founder of the Shitty Craft Club, guides you through dozens of craft projects that give you permission to be as weird, wild, and wonderful as you want to be.

Melding the nihilistic spirit of millennial/Gen Z humor with Amy Sedaris's gonzo crafting style and a healthy dose of Lisa Frank vibes, the Shitty Craft Club proves there’s no limit to what a craft can be. Making a bunch of pom-poms so you can be your own cheerleader? That’s a craft. Sculpting a rhinestone shrimp out of aluminum foil and a glue gun? A craft. Having literally one sip of water (congrats, by the way)? Yup, you bet—a craft. Because life is hard. So why not spend a bit of time gluing some trash to more trash if it makes you happy?

This is your sign to embrace anti-perfectionism. Join us at the Shitty Craft Club!

SELF-ESTEEM OVER SELF-IMPROVEMENT: In times of uncertainty, we all need a little more self-compassion. Treat yourself with kindness and care. Shitty Craft Club gives us the tools to cope in a creative and fun way, without feeling the pressure to make everything perfect.

A SHITTY PHENOMENON: From in-person events at the Ace Hotel and Milk Bar to viral projects on Instagram and TikTok, Sam Reece, the creator of Shitty Craft Club, has cultivated a movement that embraces the weird and wonderful over the perfect. This book captures all that magic of Shitty Craft Club (and hopefully inspires you to start your own).

FOR FANS OF MAKING IT AND AT HOME WITH AMY SEDARIS: With projects like Rhinestone Wall Shrimp, the Corndle, and the Shitty Trophy, this book will inspire you to pick up a glue gun, buy a bucket of beads, and make your own strange and beautiful creations.

Perfect for:
  • Fans of Sam Reece and Shitty Craft Club
  • Crafters and DIY enthusiasts looking for a humorous take on creativity
  • Self-care and mindfulness practitioners
  • Fans of Making It, Nailed It!, and At Home with Amy Sedaris
  • Creative gift for Mother's Day, graduation, holidays, and birthday
About the Author

Sam Reece is a New York City-based comedy writer and actor with a very serious crafting hobby. Reece has been writing and performing in NYC since 2011 and has written for Comedy Central, MTV, Buzzfeed, NBC, and Refinery29. In addition to performing in the comedy duo Girls with Brown Hair, Reece has appeared in prominent national advertisements including a spot in a Super Bowl ad for DoorDash, where she appeared alongside Daveed Diggs (Hamilton) and Super Grover (Sesame Street).

Shitty Craft Club began in 2019 when Reece gathered a few comedian friends, rented out a community space, and hired a photographer to capture the crafts. In 2020, when in-person events were not possible due to the impact of COVID-19, Reece joined TikTok and began creating humorous craft videos. Less than one year later, Reece and Shitty Craft Club had established a large, growing platform on TikTok and Instagram. Her engaged followers and fans interact with her content by sharing their interpretations of SCC crafts and even creating informal SCC meetups. Reece continues to collaborate with NYC businesses such as the Ace Hotel and Milk Bar to host crafting events.
Industry Reviews
"[A]n absolute essential for DIY enthusiasts of all kinds. If they loved Nexflix's Nailed It!, then they'll love this laugh-out-loud read." --Glamour

"All in all, readers will take away various ways to be their own cheerleader and advocate: who needs others cheering you on when you can make your own sequined trophy?"-Booklist



"Comedian Reece debuts with a quirky and digressive guide that encourages readers to embrace their imperfections by creating tacky crafts."--Publishers Weekly


"All in all, readers will take away various ways to be their own cheerleader and advocate: who needs others cheering you on when you can make your own sequined trophy?" --Booklist


"Funny, bonkers...and surprisingly vulnerable. Reece writes about the weirdness of internet virality, crafting as therapy, and coming out with endearing wit." --Bust

More in Handicrafts, Decorative Arts & Crafts

Megan Hess: The Bag : The Ultimate Fashion Wardrobe - Megan Hess
Megan Hess: The Shoe : The Ultimate Fashion Wardrobe - Megan Hess
Nardurna : A First Nations Colouring Book - Ryhia Dank

RRP $24.99

$21.95

12%
OFF
Vintage Crochet : Classic Australian Patterns - National Library of Australia

RRP $39.99

$35.35

12%
OFF
Secret Garden : An Inky Treasure Hunt and Colouring Book - Johanna Basford
The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain - Betty Edwards

RRP $34.99

$27.25

22%
OFF
Megan Hess: The Little Black Dress : A Love Story - Megan Hess
Creative Colouring : Adult Colouring Book (Disney)
Collins Complete Woodworkers Manual [Revised Edition] - Albert Jackson
How To Crochet : With 100 Techniques And 20 Easy Projects - Mollie Makes
Unsung : A Compendium of Creativity - Kate Ceberano

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $55.00

$49.95

Arctic Knits : Jumpers, Socks, Mittens and More - Weichien Chan