Add free shipping to your order with these great books
She and her Cat : for fans of Travelling Cat Chronicles and Convenience  Store Woman - MAKOTO SHINKAI

She and her Cat

for fans of Travelling Cat Chronicles and Convenience Store Woman

By: MAKOTO SHINKAI

Paperback | 24 October 2023

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$21.90

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
The Japanese bestseller, now in gifty gold-foiled paperback with flaps, including irresistible inside illustrations

THE PERFECT CURL-UP READ FOR CAT-LOVERS IN A SPECIAL CHRISTMASSY PACKAGE

'Compassionate and touching' DAILY MAIL

'Goes to show how cats will save us all' Nick Bradley, author of The Cat and the City

'Totally beguiling' OBSERVER
____________
On the outskirts of Tokyo, in a neighbourhood crossed by a commuter railway, local cats weave their way through the lives and homes of their owners as they navigate difficult times.

A cat named Chobi sends silent messages of courage to a young woman, willing her to end a faltering relationship; a gifted artist fatally misunderstands her boss's enthusiasm for her paintings; a manga fan shuts herself away after the death of her friend, while her cat Cookie hatches a plan to persuade her outside; a woman who has dedicated her life to a distant husband learns a lesson in independence from her cat.

Against the urban backdrop of humming trains and private woes, SHE AND HER CAT explores the gentle magic of the everyday. Populated by both the friendly and the feral, it reveals - with heartstopping clarity and warmth - how even in our darkest moments, community and connection may lead us to a happier place.

***Includes four fabulous illustrations***

'A beautiful, uplifting novel. As mesmerizing as it is strange' SAINSBURY'S MAGAZINE

'A gem, written with deep insight and finely attuned to the ways of cats and their humans. An absolute delight' HAZEL PRIOR author of Call of the Penguins

About the Author

Makoto Shinkai is the hugely popular and multi-award winning anime filmmaker of Your Name. and Weathering With You. NB- changes have been made to the above author biography which was previously stated incorrectly. Ginny Tapley Takemori is the translator of Convenience Store Woman and other prize-winning Japanese fiction. She lives in rural Japan. She and Her Cat is inspired by Shinkai's praised anime and written by Nagakawa, and will be published around the world.

NARUKI NAGAKAWA is a Japanese game and anime screenwriter, and novelist. NB- Changes have been made to the above author biography which was previously stated incorrectly.

More in Fiction in Translation

Until August : The Lost Novel - Gabriel Garcia Márquez

RRP $35.00

$31.75

Solo Leveling, Vol. 1 : Light Novel - Chugong

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $27.99

$24.75

12%
OFF
The Master And Margarita - Mikhail Bulgakov

RRP $11.95

$8.75

27%
OFF
The Premonition - Banana Yoshimoto

RRP $29.99

$29.95

Killing Moon : The NEW Sunday Times bestselling thriller - Jo Nesbo
The Wolves of Eternity - Karl Ove Knausgaard

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Mantis - Kotaro Isaka

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

I Went to See My Father : The instant Korean bestseller - Kyung-Sook Shin
The Boy and the Dog - Seishu Hase

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Juja - Nino Haratischvili

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Survivors : Karen Pirie - Alex Schulman

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Preacher : Patrik Hedstrom : Book 2 - Camilla Lackberg

RRP $22.99

$21.90