+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat : Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking - Samin Nosrat

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

By: Samin Nosrat, Wendy MacNaughton (Artist), Michael Pollan (Foreword by)

Hardcover

Published: 25th April 2017
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $70.00
$45.50
35%
OFF

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements-Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food - and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes - and dozens of variations - to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrette; perfectly caramelized roast vegetables; tender braised meats; and light, flaky pastry dough.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you'll ever need.

About the Author

Samin Nosrat is a writer, teacher, and chef. Called “a go-to resource for matching the correct techniques with the best ingredients” by The New York Times, and “the next Julia Child” by NPR’s All Things Considered, she’s been cooking professionally since 2000, when she first stumbled into the kitchen at Chez Panisse restaurant. She lives, cooks, surfs, and gardens in Berkeley, California. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is her first book.

WRITE A REVIEW

Informative & Easy to read!

5

Found this book so interesting! Learning the Why behind many cooking techniques has made them easier to use in my own kitchen. My properly salted spatchcock chicken is our new family favourite meal thanks to this book.

Greensborough, VIC

34813959

5.0 1

0.0

'Just reading Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will make you a better cook, adept at seasoning, balancing, understanding what it really is you’re doing and why... Make room on the bedside table—and the countertop.' Bon Appetit

'My favorite metacookbook...[Nosrat] offers a beautifully simple checklist for ensuring a dish ends up in a good place... This is the book of cooking grammar that so many novices would benefit from... Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is written smoothly and casually, and kept breezy via charming watercolors by the perceptive Bay Area artist Wendy MacNaughton... Nosrat’s book would be of value both to people who don’t consider themselves cooks and to people actively striving to become better ones.' Atlantic

'Inventively illustrated...ambitious...[Nosrat is] a talented explainer.' Wall Street Journal

'A cookbook that will make you a better cook...with helpful, charming illustrations from artist Wendy MacNaughton.' Boston Globe

'An exhaustively researched treatise on the four pillars of successful cooking.' New York Times Book Review

'This beautiful, approachable book not only teaches you how to cook, but captures how it should feel to cook: full of exploration, spontaneity and joy. Samin is one of the great teachers I know, and wins people over to cooking with real food organic, seasonal, and alive with her irrepressible enthusiasm and curiosity.' Alice Waters, New York Times bestselling author of The Art of Simple Food

'Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is a wildly informative, new-generation, culinary resource. Samin Nosrat's wealth of experience comes together here in a pitch perfect combination of charm, narrative, straight-talk, illustration, and inspiration. Ticking all the boxes for new and seasoned cooks alike, this book meets you wherever you are in the kitchen, in all the right ways.' Heidi Swanson, New York Times bestselling author of Super Natural Cooking

'Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is a very important book not because it contains many excellent recipes, although it does, or because it is written by a Chez Panisse alum, although it is. It is important because it gives home cooks a compass with which to navigate their own kitchens, and it places trust in them that they will be able to use that compass. Samin's easygoing, cook-by-feel approach is never condescending or elitist. It is a step towards cooking without recipes and true empowerment (and joy!) in the kitchen.' John Becker and Megan Scott, 4th generation stewards of the New York Times bestselling Joy of Cooking

'Everyone was impressed when Michael Pollan managed to summarize the huge and complex subject of what we should be eating in just seven words: Eat food, not too much, mostly plants. Samin Nosrat has managed to summarize the huge and complex subject of how we should be cooking in just four words: Salt, fat, acid, heat. Everyone will be hugely impressed.' Yotam Ottolenghi, New York Times bestselling author of Jerusalem

'Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is a must for anyone wanting to be a better cook. Samin Nosrat, along with Wendy MacNaughton s fun illustrations, teaches the fundamentals of cooking and dives into the four elements that make food taste great. So do yourself a favor and buy this book. I promise you won t regret it.' April Bloomfield, James Beard award-winning chef and author of A Girl and Her Pig

'Like the amazing meals that come out of Samin Nosrat's kitchen, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat is the perfect mixture of highest-quality ingredients: beautiful storytelling, clear science, an infectious love of food, and Wendy MacNaughton s powerful art. Nosrat's prose combined with MacNaughton's beautiful illustrations are a perfect guide to employing the science of cooking for maximum deliciousness.' Rebecca Skloot, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Foreword
Introduction
How to Use This Book

PART ONE: The Four Elements of Good Cooking
SALT
FAT
ACID
HEAT
What to Cook

PART TWO: Recipes and Recommendations
Kitchen Basics
Recipes:
  • Salads
  • Dressings
  • Vegetables
  • Stock and Soups
  • Beans, Grains and Pasta 280 Eggs
  • Fish
  • Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Chicken
  • Meat
  • Sauces
  • Butter-and-Flour Doughs
  • Sweets

  • Cooking Lessons
    Suggested Menus
    Tips for Further Reading
    Acknowledgments
    Bibliography
    Index
    About the Author & the Illustrator

    ISBN: 9781476753836
    ISBN-10: 1476753830
    Audience: General
    Format: Hardcover
    Language: English
    Number Of Pages: 480
    Published: 25th April 2017
    Publisher: SIMON & SCHUSTER
    Country of Publication: US
    Dimensions (cm): 23.11 x 19.56  x 3.56
    Weight (kg): 1.23