+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Saint and Singer : Edward Taylor's Typology and the Poetics of Meditation - Karen E. Rowe

Saint and Singer

Edward Taylor's Typology and the Poetics of Meditation

Hardcover Published: 27th June 1986
ISBN: 9780521308656
Number Of Pages: 360

Share This Book:

Hardcover

$244.90
or 4 easy payments of $61.23 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 490 Qantas Points
on this Book

Other Available Editions (Hide)

This book focuses on the works of America"s premier colonial poet, Edward Taylor (1642-1729). This study analyses typology in Taylor"s Christographia and Treatise Concerning the Lord's Supper and examining Taylor"s adaptations of figural analogies to suit his personal spiritual needs, Professor Rowe advances a theory which unites Taylor"s exegetical discipline as a preacher with his creativity as a poet. This is the first work to draw on the collection of unpublished sermons, discovered in 1977, Upon the Types of the Old Testament. Professor Rowe links Taylor"s sermons with corresponding poetic meditations, thus providing insights into typological theories, groupings and analogies. In her conclusion, the author sees Taylor as neither metaphysical or baroque, nor a historian in the typological school, but rather as the quintessential Puritan preacher and poet, a contemplative lyricist and devotional typologist in the tradition of Herbert, Milton and Bunyan.

Preface
A note on the text
The heritage of Puritan typology
Prophets and poets: typology as illumination
Of prophets, priests and kings: personalising the types
Edward Taylor's Puritan 'worship-mould'
New England's saints delivered
Sacramental types: seals to the Covenant
Preparing for the wedding feast
The artistry of types
Appendices
Notes
Index
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521308656
ISBN-10: 0521308658
Series: Cambridge Studies in American Literature & Culture
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 360
Published: 27th June 1986
Publisher: CAMBRIDGE UNIV PR
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.62 x 15.8  x 2.21
Weight (kg): 0.61

Earn 490 Qantas Points
on this Book