+612 9045 4394
Ruby and the Country Cousins : Our Australian Girl Series : Book 2 - Penny Matthews

Ruby and the Country Cousins

Our Australian Girl Series : Book 2

By: Penny Matthews, Lucia Masciullo (Illustrator)


Published: 24th April 2013
For Ages: 7+ years old
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $14.95

eBook View Product

Published: 24th April 2013
For Ages: 6 - 8 years old
Format: ePUB

It's 1931 . . . and Ruby and her family have lost everything in the Great Depression. Leaving behind her dad, her school friends and everything she knows, Ruby must move to Kettle Farm to stay with her cousins. Life in the country is new and strange, and Ruby has never felt like such an outsider. Thankfully she has her much-loved dog, Baxter, for company - until he gets up to mischief, and everything goes horribly wrong. . .

Follow Ruby on her adventure in the second of four exciting stories about a happy-go-lucky girl in a time of great change.

About the Author

Penny Matthews's books include Pudding and Chips, Little Red Bear, A Year on Our Farm, Something About Water and A Girl Like Me. Lucia Masciullo is a fine art painter and freelance illustrator.



by PowerReviews
Ruby and the Country Cousins

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars



  • 4 Stars



  • 3 Stars



  • 2 Stars



  • 1 Stars



Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top


Wonderful series of books


from Gold Coast

About Me Bookworm

Verified Buyer


  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Easy To Read
  • Engaging characters
  • Informative
  • Page-Turner
  • Well Written


    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Older Readers
    • Younger Readers

    Comments about Ruby and the Country Cousins:

    My granddaughter and I both enjoy reading together all the books in this series of Australian Girl waiting for the next 2 editions to be released. Great way to learn a little bit of Australian History at the same time and collect all the charms for a special bracelet.

    Displaying review 1

    Back to top

    Sally Rippin

    Sally Rippin was born in Darwin and grew up in South-East Asia. As a young adult she studied traditional Chinese painting for three years in Shanghai and Hangzhou, which inspired her first novel Chenxi and the Foreigner.

    Sally is the author of many books for children, including the popular Billie B Brown and Hey Jack! series, and the highly acclaimed children's novel Angel Creek. Currently, she lives in Melbourne with her partner and three sons, and writes and illustrates full time.

    Sally is a regular fixture at Writing Festivals and Workshops across Australia and overseas. She also teaches Writing for Children at RMIT University, is a mentor for the Australian Society of Authors and is one of the Victorian Premier’s Reading Challenge Ambassadors.

    Visit Sally Rippin's Booktopia Author Page

    ISBN: 9780143307433
    ISBN-10: 0143307436
    Series: Our Australian Girl
    Audience: Children
    For Ages: 7+ years old
    For Grades: 4 - 6
    Format: Paperback
    Language: English
    Number Of Pages: 144
    Published: 24th April 2013
    Publisher: Penguin Books Australia
    Country of Publication: AU
    Dimensions (cm): 20.0 x 13.0  x 1.0
    Weight (kg): 0.13
    Edition Number: 2