+612 9045 4394
Richard Wagner's Music Dramas - Carl Dahlhaus

Richard Wagner's Music Dramas

By: Carl Dahlhaus, Mary Whittall (Translator)

Paperback Published: 25th May 1992
ISBN: 9780521428996
Number Of Pages: 168

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Previous studies of Wagner's operas have tended to approach the works as chunks of autobiography, philosophical speculations or historical-political comments on the age in which they were written. Professor Dahlhaus dissociated himself from all such ventures. His aim is to reveal, by careful analysis of the works from Der fliegende Hollander to Parsifal, the dominant features of 'music drama' and how Wagner achieves such profound, unified effects. Professor Dahlhaus cites music examples only when they are germane to his argument and requires from his readers no more than a limited amount of technical musical knowledge. This is not, therefore, an exclusively specialist study. Rather it will help the enthusiastic beginner to come to terms with these great works of art as well as offering many valuable insights to the experienced Wagnerian. The book will be of interest to students and scholars of music history, theory, opera and philosophy.

Der fliergende Hollander Tannhauser Lohengrin Tristan und Isolde Die Meistersinger von Nurnberg Der Ring des Nibnelungen Das Rheingold Die Walkure Siefried Gotterdammerung Parsifal The works in the theatre
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521428996
ISBN-10: 0521428998
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 168
Published: 25th May 1992
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.73 x 15.14  x 1.27
Weight (kg): 0.25