+612 9045 4394
Rashomon and Seventeen Other Stories : Penguin Classics - Akutagawa Ryunosuke

Rashomon and Seventeen Other Stories

Penguin Classics


Published: 30th March 2006
For Ages: 18+ years old
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $24.99

eBook View Product

Published: 5th April 2007
Format: ePUB

Booktopia Comments

Order this product, or any product from the Father's Day Gift Guide by August 23rd, and you could win a book pack worth $700 RRP! Terms and Conditions apply.

Product Description

Ryunosuke Akutagawa (1892-1927) is one of Japan's foremost stylists – a modernist master whose short stories are marked by highly original imagery, cynicism, beauty, and wild humour. 'Rashomon' and 'In a Bamboo Grove' inspired Kurosawa's magnificent film and depict a past in which morality is turned upside down, while tales such as 'The Nose', 'O-Gin', and 'Loyalty' paint a rich and imaginative picture of a medieval Japan peopled by Shoguns and priests, vagrants, and peasants. And in later works such as 'Death Register', 'The Life of a Stupid Man', and 'Spinning Gears', Akutagawa drew from his own life to devastating effect, revealing his intense melancholy and terror of madness in exquisitely moving impressionistic stories.

About the Author

Akutagawa Ryunosuke, short-story writer, poet, and essayist, one of the first Japanese modernists translated into English. He was born in Tokyo in 1892, and began writing for student publications at the age of ten. He graduated from Tokyo University in 1916 with an English Literature degree and worked as a teacher before becoming a full time writer in 1919. His mother had gone mad suddenly just months after his birth and he was plagued by fear of inherited insanity all his life. He killed himself in 1927.

Introduction : Akutagawa Ryunosuke : downfall of the chosen
Rashomonp. 3
In a bamboo grovep. 10
The nosep. 20
Dragon : the old potter's talep. 28
The spider threadp. 38
Hell screenp. 42
Dr. Ogata Ryosai : memorandump. 77
O-ginp. 83
Loyaltyp. 90
The story of a head that fell offp. 111
Green onionsp. 120
Horse legsp. 130
Daidoji Shinsuke : the early yearsp. 147
The writer's craftp. 163
The baby's sicknessp. 172
Death registerp. 180
The life of a stupid manp. 186
Spinning gearsp. 206
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780140449709
ISBN-10: 0140449701
Series: Penguin Classics
Audience: General
For Ages: 18+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 30th March 2006
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 1.8
Weight (kg): 0.24
Edition Number: 1