+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Pinpoint : How GPS is Changing Our World - Greg Milner

Pinpoint

How GPS is Changing Our World

Paperback Published: 28th June 2017
ISBN: 9781847087096
Number Of Pages: 336

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $22.99
$17.25
25%
OFF
In Stock
if ordered within
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 35 Qantas Points
on this Book

A big-think book which tells the riveting story of GPS (Global Positioning System) and how it is affecting our brains, our technology, and our culture, in the tradition of James Gleick and Nicholas Carr.

Over the last fifty years, humanity has developed an extraordinary global utility which is omnipresent, universal, and available to all: the Global Positioning System (GPS). A network of twenty-four satellites and their monitoring stations on Earth, it makes possible almost all modern technology, from the smartphone in your pocket to the Mars rover. Neither the internet nor the cloud would work without it. And it is changing us in profound ways we've yet to come to terms with. While GPS has brought us breathtakingly accurate methods of timekeeping, navigation, and earthquake tracking, our overwhelming reliance on it is having unexpected consequences on our culture, and on ourselves.

GPS is reshaping our thinking about privacy and surveillance, and brings with it the growing danger of GPS terrorism. Neuroscientists have even found that using GPS for navigation may be affecting our cognitive maps - possibly rearranging the grey matter in our heads - leading to the increasingly common phenomenon 'Death by GPS', in which drivers blindly follow their devices into deserts, lakes, and impassable mountains.

Deeply researched, inventive and with fascinating insights into the way we think about our place in the world, Pinpoint reveals the way that the technologies we design to help us can end up shaping our lives. It is at once a grand history of science and a far-reaching book about contemporary culture.

About the Author

Greg Milner is the author of Perfecting Sound Forever, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. A former editor at Spin, his writing has also appeared in Slate, the Village Voice, Wired, Salon, New York, Blender, Rolling Stone, the Word, the Sunday Times, and the Journal of Technology in Human Services. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.

ISBN: 9781847087096
ISBN-10: 1847087094
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 336
Published: 28th June 2017
Publisher: Granta Books
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 2.3
Weight (kg): 0.25

Earn 35 Qantas Points
on this Book