Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Picasso and the Greatest Show on Earth - Anna Fienberg
CBCA Notables 2024 – High School

Picasso and the Greatest Show on Earth

By: Anna Fienberg

Paperback | 4 July 2023

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $17.99

$17.25

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
A sweetly moving story about friendship and finding happiness, for readers who loved Wonder and Lenny's Book of Everything.

Frances is in a new house in a new neighbourhood and going to a new school, but no amount of new can make her forget the old, sad secret dragging at her heart. Not the pictures of bacteria that she draws with painstaking precision, not even Picasso, the puppy with the long soft ears and the cute black circle like a target on his bottom. Then Frances meets Kit, the tall, quiet boy with the two-coloured eyes. Kit is a real artist. His coloured pencils fill page after page of exercise books. He sees wonder in the rocks and ferns and sky. Though Kit has worries of his own.

But when secrets are spilled, Frances's life turns grey and drab. Not even Picasso's wet nose can brighten her up. Frances and Kit will need to face the truth of their pasts to find colour in their world again. After all, don't the most brilliant sunsets need a cloudy sky?

A beautiful novel about finding the remarkable in the ordinary and celebrating the wonder of every day, from the award-winning author of Borrowed Light.

'Marvellous, mind-opening, and deeply moving. The best book yet from this irresistible author.' Morris Gleitzman

'A beautifully written novel that encompasses such big things … Frances, Kit and Picasso will stay with me for quite a while.' Karen Foxlee

'I loved this book with my whole heart. It's truly beautiful. And a gift to readers, young and old.' Maryam Master


About the Author

Anna Fienberg has written more than forty well-loved books for children and young adults. Her career began when she worked as an editor for School Magazine, a NSW literary journal for children, which published her first story. She went on to win many awards for her novels and picture books, including the Children's Book Council of Australia award for The Magnificent Nose and Other Marvels, the Victorian Premier's Prize for Ariel, Zed and the Secret of Life, and the CBCA Honour Book for Horrendo's Curse and Borrowed Light, the latter also chosen as an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults.

Anna writes for all ages, and has been published all over the world. Her ever-popular Tashi books, illustrated by Kim Gamble, have inspired an animated series for television. The latest is Tashi and the Stolen Forest.
Industry Reviews
'Marvellous, mind-opening, and deeply moving. The best book yet from this irresistible author.' Morris Gleitzman, author of Once'A beautifully written novel that encompasses such big things ... Frances, Kit and Picasso will stay with me for quite a while.' Karen Foxlee, author of Lenny's Book of Everything
'I loved this book with my whole heart. It's truly beautiful. And a gift to readers, young and old.' Maryam Master, author of Exit Through the Gift Shop
'Richly observed and laden with vocabulary and metaphor that will delight teachers and students alike ... Push this into the hands of anyone who loved Storm Boy or Lenny's Book of Everything.' Books+Publishing


More in General, Modern & Contemporary Fiction for Children & Teenagers

Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Bluey : The Decider - Bluey

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Willa and Woof 7 : Camp Chaos - Jacqueline Harvey

RRP $12.99

$12.35

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$23.75

The Missing Tooth : Billie B Brown Series : Book 19 - Sally Rippin
The Soccer Star : Billie B Brown Series : Book 2 - Sally Rippin
The Explorer : WINNER OF THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD - Katherine Rundell
The Dog Runner - Bren MacDibble

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Spencer's New Pet - Jessie Sima

RRP $29.99

$27.90

We're Going on a Bear Hunt : Sound Book - Michael Rosen

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Storm Boy and Other Stories - Colin Thiele
Where Is The Green Sheep? - Mem Fox

RRP $14.99

$14.25

The Second-best Friend : Billie B Brown Series : Book 4 - Sally Rippin
Mr Stink - David Walliams

Paperback

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Koko and the Coconut - Turia Pitt

RRP $19.99

$18.95

If Only I Had Told Her - Laura Nowlin

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Great Gallipoli Escape - Jackie French

RRP $22.99

$21.90

The Great Gallipoli Escape - Jackie French

RRP $17.99

$17.25