+612 9045 4394
Panzer Operations : The Eastern Front Memoir of General Raus, 1941-1945 - Erhard Raus

Panzer Operations

The Eastern Front Memoir of General Raus, 1941-1945

Paperback Published: 1st February 2005
ISBN: 9780306814099
Number Of Pages: 368

Other Formats

Share This Book:
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

German general Erhard Raus was one of the most talented commanders to fight on the Eastern Front in Russia, where he was eventually appointed to army group command in early 1945. By the time the war ended, Raus had established a reputation as one of the German army's foremost tacticians of armored warfare, which made him a prized capture by U. S. Army intelligence. In American captivity, Raus wrote a detailed memoir of his service in Russia. His battlefield experience and keen tactical eye makes his memoir especially valuable. The Raus memoir-now translated, compiled, and edited by prominent World War II historian Steven H. Newton-covers the Russian campaign from the first day of the war to his being relieved of his command at Hitler's order in the spring of 1945. It includes a detailed examination of Raus's 6th Panzer Division's drive to Leningrad, his experiences in the Soviet winter counteroffensive around Moscow, the unsuccessful attempt to relieve Stalingrad and the final desperate battles inside Germany at the end of the war.

The Invasion of the Soviet Unionp. 1
Raseinaip. 14
To the Russian Borderp. 35
The Gateway to Leningradp. 46
Moscowp. 85
Winter Warp. 95
Outside Stalingradp. 137
Kharkov and Kurskp. 185
Belgorod and Kharkovp. 213
Battles for the Ukrainep. 248
The Battle for Lvovp. 274
East Prussiap. 294
Pomeraniap. 318
Final Thoughts of a Soldierp. 341
The Life and Career of Erhard Rausp. 349
Indexp. 355
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780306814099
ISBN-10: 0306814099
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 368
Published: 1st February 2005
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.23 x 15.24  x 3.18
Weight (kg): 0.5
Edition Number: 1