+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Osbert the Avenger : Tales from Schwartzgarte - Christopher William Hill

Osbert the Avenger

Tales from Schwartzgarte

Paperback

Published: 11th June 2013
For Ages: 6 - 12 years old
Ships: 10 to 15 business days
10 to 15 business days
RRP $15.99
$15.40

eBook View Product

Published: 4th October 2012
For Ages: 9 - 12 years old
Format: ePUB
$11.99

Like Roald Dahl - but different!

The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series.

Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail...

If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten.

About the Author

Christopher William Hill is an award-winning playwright and radio dramatist. His plays for young people have been performed in the UK and internationally.

Fans of Roald Dahl, Chris Priestly and Lemony Snicket will savour every gruesome drop of this stylish, grisly and original comedy. - The Times

An idiosyncratic comic fantasy... it is likely that children will be most enthusiastic. - Books For Keeps

Bloodthirsty and mysterious with a sharp spike in its tail, Osbert's story is a deliciously dark invitation to the strange world of Schwartzgarten, a city corrupt with shadows and secrets - and in need of a hero. - We Love this Book

Looks set to be a hugely successful new series. Marvelously detailed. There are three more bloodthirsty and hilarious adventures to come. - School Librarian

A macabre tale full of ghoulish and gruesome escapades. A frightening but appealing anti-hero. - Booktrust

A riveting story - a clever mix of humour with some very dark and gruesome moments and a couple of real shocks towards the end. - Primary Times

If you love your teachers and have never entertained the thought of murdering them in the most diabolically appropriate way, then this book should probably be avoided at all costs. - Lion & Unicorn Books

Rules are broken in a carnival manner that is deliciously and genuinely thrilling - Books for Keeps

ISBN: 9781408314555
ISBN-10: 140831455X
Series: Tales from Schwartzgarte
Audience: Children
For Ages: 6 - 12 years old
For Grades: 4 - 6
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 11th June 2013
Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.9 x 13.0  x 2.6
Weight (kg): 0.33
Edition Number: 1