Add free shipping to your order with these great books
One Illumined Thread : The inspired stunning new debut historical novel for fans of Geraldine Brooks, Dominic Smith and Pip Williams - Sally Colin-James

One Illumined Thread

The inspired stunning new debut historical novel for fans of Geraldine Brooks, Dominic Smith and Pip Williams

By: Sally Colin-James

Paperback | 5 June 2024

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A beautiful, enthralling and powerful story of three women separated by centuries, yet connected by a thread of longing and a singular creative spirit - for readers of Geraldine Brooks, Sarah Winman, Maggie O'Farrell and Pip Williams.

Longlisted for the 2023 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award.

In Judea, under the brutal rule of King Herod, a woman yearns for a child but is outcast when she does not fall pregnant. Against all convention, she masters the art of glassblowing, a creative act she believes will keep her dream of motherhood alive. In Renaissance Florence, a young wife is left penniless by her hopelessly unfaithful husband, and struggles to find a way to support herself and her young son. And in contemporary Australia, a talented textile conservator, devastated by loss, is desperate to regain control of her life. Each woman wants something that seems unattainable, and it will take all their courage, creativity and determination to achieve it.

A stunning, sweeping historical novel spanning two thousand years, One Illumined Thread celebrates the power and creative spirit of the female heart, as each woman finds freedom through an extraordinary connection.

About the Author

Following a globally successful corporate career in communications and event management, Sally Colin-James returned to creative writing, gaining an Australian Postgraduate Award (APA) scholarship to complete a Doctor of Philosophy in professional writing. Her novel One Illumined Thread won the 2020 HNSA Colleen McCullough Residency Award, the 2020 Varuna PIP Fellowship Award, the Byron Bay Writers Festival Mentorship Award, and a placement with the Australian Writers Mentoring program. Her work was shortlisted from over 2000 entries across 54 countries for the international 2021 First Pages Prize.
Industry Reviews
'Crafted masterfully ... This is a story of love - both its presence and absence - but above all, it gives agency to its female protagonists. Extensively researched, expertly written.' - Good Reading

'So alive and brimming with story, One Illumined Thread held me captive from the start. An exquisite interweaving of history and herstory ... a compulsively good read.' - Lyn Hughes, author of Mr Carver's Whale

'A gorgeously evocative, beautifully wrought story that weaves across time, connecting and illuminating the experience of creative women throughout history.' - Kayte Nunn, author of The Silk House

More in Historical Fiction

The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Deception Bay : Book No.2 - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
Maya's Dance - Helen Signy

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Sea Captain's Wife - Jackie French

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Hidden Storyteller : A Novel - Mandy Robotham

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Wild Date Palm - Diane Armstrong

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Sweet Blue Distance - Sara Donati

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Until August : The Lost Novel - Gabriel Garcia Márquez

RRP $35.00

$31.75

Pemulwuy : The Rainbow Warrior - Eric Willmot

RRP $34.99

$27.95

20%
OFF
The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld
Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt : The Seven Sisters: Book 8 - Harry Whittaker
Bone Rites - Natalie Bayley

FREE SHIPPING

Paperback

RRP $21.99

$20.90