+612 9045 4394
On Russian Music - Richard Taruskin

Paperback Published: 30th September 2010
ISBN: 9780520268067
Number Of Pages: 416

Share This Book:


RRP $47.99
Ships in 3 to 4 business days

Over the past four decades, Richard Taruskin's publications have redefined the field of Russian-music study. This volume gathers thirty-six essays on composers ranging from Bortnyansky in the eighteenth century to Tarnopolsky in the twenty-first, as well as all of the famous names in between. Some of these pieces, like the ones on Chaikovsky's alleged suicide and on the interpretation of Shostakovich's legacy, have won fame in their own right as decisive contributions to some of the most significant debates in contemporary musicology. An extensive introduction lays out the main issues and a justification of Taruskin's approach, seen both in the light of his intellectual development and in that of the changing intellectual environment, which has been particularly marked by the end of the cold war in Europe.

"[Taruskin's] command of this subject is surely unparalleled... This is an authoritative, consistently challenging, deeply engaging volume of essays - very strongly recommended." -- Philip Borg-Wheeler Classical Music Magazine "Very entertaining." -- Michael Kimmelman New York Review Of Books "[Taruskin's essays] demonstrate his ... rare gift for conveying complex information in a concise, accessible manner... An essential compendium." Notes "Whether [Taruskin is] validating Susan McClary's sexist charges at Beethoven or implicitly acknowledging his debt to Donald Francis Tovey, reading his essays will make you a better, smarter person." Huffington Post

preface: against utopiap. ix
Et in Arcadia Ego; or, I Didn't Know I Was Such a Pessimist until I Wrote This Thing (a talk)p. 1
From the New York Times, mostly
Only Time Will Cover the Taintp. 21
"Nationalism": Colonialism in Disguise?p. 25
Why Do They All Hate Horowitz?p. 30
Optimism amid the Rubblep. 37
A Survivor from the Teutonic Train Wreckp. 43
Does Nature Call the Tune?p. 46
Two Stabs at the Universep. 51
Away with the Ives Myth: The "Universe" Is Here at Lastp. 51
p. 55
In Search of the "Good" Hindemith Legacyp. 60
Six Times Six: A Bach Suite Selectionp. 66
A Beethoven Season?p. 71
Dispelling the Contagious Wagnerian Mistp. 81
How Talented Composers Become Uselessp. 86
Making a Stand against Sterilityp. 94
A Sturdy Musical Bridge to the Twenty-first Centuryp. 98
Calling All Pundits: No More Predictions!p. 104
In The Rake's Progress, Love Conquers (Almost) Allp. 109
Markevitch as Icarusp. 118
Let's Rescue Poor Schumann from His Rescuersp. 124
Early Music: Truly Old-Fashioned at Last?p. 129
Bartók and Stravinsky: Odd Couple Reunited?p. 133
Wagner's Antichrist Crashes a Pagan Partyp. 138
A Surrealist Composer Comes to the Rescue of Modernismp. 144
Corraling a Herd of Musical Mavericksp. 153
Can We Give Poor Orff a Pass at Last?p. 161
The Danger of Music and the Case for Controlp. 165
Ezra Pound: A Slim Sound Claim to Musical Immortalityp. 181
Underneath the Dissonance Beat a Brahmsian Heartp. 186
Enter Boris Goudenow, Just 295 Years Latep. 191
The First Modernistp. 195
The Dark Side of the Moonp. 202
Of Kings and Divasp. 217
The Golden Age of Kitschp. 241
No Ear for Music: The Scary Purity of John Cagep. 261
Sacred Entertainmentsp. 280
The Poietic Fallacyp. 301
The Musical Mystique: Defending Classical Music against Its Devoteesp. 330
From the scholarly press
Revising Revisionp. 354
Back to Whom? Neoclassicism as Ideologyp. 382
She Do the Ring in Different Voicesp. 406
Stravinsky and Usp. 420
Setting Limits (a talk)p. 448
indexp. 000
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780520268067
ISBN-10: 0520268067
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 416
Published: 30th September 2010
Publisher: University of California Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 23.6 x 15.1  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.58