+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Not Quite Narwhal - Jessie Sima

Hardcover

Published: 14th February 2017
For Ages: 4+ years old
Ships: 3 to 4 business days
3 to 4 business days
RRP $24.99
$20.40
18%
OFF

In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.

Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he's always been a little bit different-his tusk isn't as long, he's not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn't enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him! Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.

Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima's debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.

About the Author

Jessie Sima is an author/illustrator who lives and works in New York City. She grew up in a small town in Southern New Jersey, unaware that she was a storyteller. Once she figured it out, she told her family and friends. They took it quite well. Not Quite Narwhal is Jessie's debut picture book.

WRITE A REVIEW

Gorgeous, clever children's book

5

My 4yo daughter just loves this book. Unicorns, but with some reality and substance.

The ocean

true

Not Quite Narwhal

5.0 1

100.0

"The message is an appealing one that could speak to many family situations relating to multiple identities...feel-good story" -- Kirkus Reviews * November 15, 2016 *
"Adorable characters trigger smiles throughout" -- Publisher's Weekly * December 2016 *
"A storyteller's pacing and winning characters, resulting in an appealing book. Read it for a whimsical storytime or provide some text-to-text connections for older students with Amy Krouse Rosenthal's Uni the Unicorn and Bob Shea's Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great....this title is highly recommended." -- School Library Journal * January 2017 *
"Swap the tired Ugly Duckling for this delightfully absurd tale of knowing who you are and where you came from." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books * January 2017 *
"Sima's bubbly, adorable artwork is nearly irresistible...This endearing tale will warm many a heart." -- Booklist * January 2017 *
"This book is painfully adorable...The story is about finding your own way to belong,..It's just beautiful." -- Shelf Awareness Pro * January 24, 2017 *

ISBN: 9781481469098
ISBN-10: 1481469096
Audience: Children
For Ages: 4+ years old
For Grades: 1 - 2
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 40
Published: 14th February 2017
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 23.6 x 23.8  x 1.0
Weight (kg): 0.37