+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Nobel Lectures In Peace, Vol 5 (1981-1990) : Nobel Lectures, Including Presentation Speeches and Laureate - Irwin Abrams

Nobel Lectures In Peace, Vol 5 (1981-1990)

Nobel Lectures, Including Presentation Speeches and Laureate

By: Irwin Abrams (Editor)

Paperback Published: 28th November 1994
ISBN: 9789810211813
Number Of Pages: 308

Share This Book:


RRP $84.99
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 142 Qantas Points
on this Book

The last decade of the twentieth century is already proving to be as dramatic as any decade before. The chances of global peace seem stronger now than at any time since 1900 and the people and organizations that have contributed most towards this progress are recognized by the Norwegian Nobel Committee. The Nobel Peace Prizewinners during the period 1971 - 1980 include men, women and organizations whose principles, dedication and diligence continue to shape history.These volumes are collections of the Nobel lectures delivered by the Prizewinners, together with their biographies, portraits and presentation speeches by representatives of the Norwegian Nobel Committee for the period 1971 - 1980. Each Nobel lecture is based on the work that won the laureate his prize. New biographical data of the laureates, since they were awarded the Nobel prize, are also included. These volumes of inspiring lectures by outstanding individuals should be on everyone's bookshelf.Below is a list of the prizewinners during the period 1981 - 1990:Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, A Myrdal, A Garcia Robles, L Walesa, D M Tutu, International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, E Wiesel, O Arias Sanchez, The United Nations Peace-Keeping Forces, The 14th Dalai Lama, M S Gorbachev.

1981 United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)p. 3
Presentation by John Sannessp. 7
History of UNHCRp. 17
From Tragedy to Hopep. 19
1982 Alva Myrdal and Alfonso Garcia Roblesp. 33
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 37
Biography of Alva Myrdalp. 45
Disarmament, Technology and the Growth in Violencep. 47
Biography of Alfonso Garcia Roblesp. 57
The Latin American Nuclear-Weapon Free Zonep. 61
1983 Lech Walesap. 73
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 77
Nobel Lecturep. 89
1984 Reverend Desmond Mpilo Tutup. 99
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 103
Nobel Lecturep. 115
1985 International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War (IPPNW)p. 125
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 131
History of IPPNWp. 137
Acceptance by Yevgeny Chazovp. 138
Tragedy and Triumph of Reasonp. 140
Acceptance by Bernard Lownp. 146
A Prescription for Hopep. 148
1986 Elie Wieselp. 159
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 163
Hope, Despair and Memoryp. 174
1987 Oscar Arias Sanchezp. 183
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 187
Only Peace Can Write the New Historyp. 196
1988 The United Nations Peacekeeping Forcesp. 207
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 211
History of the United Nations Peacekeeping Forcesp. 217
Acceptance by Javier Perez de Cuellarp. 221
Nobel Lecturep. 223
1989 XIVth Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatsop. 233
Presentation by Egil Aarvikp. 237
The Informal Lecturep. 250
Nobel Lecturep. 256
1990 Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachevp. 267
Presentation by Gidske Andersonp. 271
Nobel Lecturep. 280
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9789810211813
ISBN-10: 9810211813
Series: Nobel Lectures, Including Presentation Speeches and Laureate
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 308
Published: 28th November 1994
Publisher: World Scientific Publishing Co Pte Ltd
Country of Publication: SG
Dimensions (cm): 24.77 x 16.51  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.69

Earn 142 Qantas Points
on this Book