+612 9045 4394
Nielsen : Symphony No. 5 - David Fanning


Symphony No. 5

Hardcover Published: 13th June 1997
ISBN: 9780521440882
Number Of Pages: 138

Share This Book:


or 4 easy payments of $39.74 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

After the death of Mahler in 1911 the great Austro-German symphonic line was carried on mainly in England, America, Scandinavia and Russia. The Fifth Symphony of Carl Nielsen, Denmark's greatest composer, was composed in 1921-2. David Fanning discusses its place within the symphonic tradition since Beethoven, revealing the personal background to the work and taking full account of the extensive Danish commentaries, including the composer's own, which are given in English for the first time. In an absorbing analysis of the music he lays bare the origins of its images of inertia, anxiety and collapse in Nielsen's tone poems and incidental music for the theatre. New insights are offered into the symphony's 'progressive tonality' and its relationship to traditional structural models.

'The writing is imbued with a deep love and understanding of the music and the author has the skill to put it into historical and artistic perspective.' Musical Times

Tradition and renewal
The first movement: dark, resting forces
The second movement: alert forces
Composition, reception, editions, recordings: Appendices
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521440882
ISBN-10: 0521440882
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 138
Published: 13th June 1997
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.6 x 13.8  x 1.1
Weight (kg): 0.33