+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Nicolas Slonimsky: Writings on Music : Music of the Modern Era - Nicolas Slonimsky

Nicolas Slonimsky: Writings on Music

Music of the Modern Era

Hardcover Published: 22nd November 2004
ISBN: 9780415968676
Number Of Pages: 341

Share This Book:


RRP $478.99
or 4 easy payments of $82.94 with Learn more
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 664 Qantas Points
on this Book

Nicolas Slonimsky (1894-1995) was an influential and celebrated writer on music. Born in St. Petersburg, Russia in 1894, in his 101 years he taught and coached music; conducted the premieres of several 20th century masterpieces; composed works for piano and voice; and oversaw the 5th-8th editions of the classic "Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians." Beginning in 1926, Slonimsky resided in the United States. From his arrival, he wrote provocative articles on contemporary music and musicians, many of whom were his personal friends. Working as a freelance author, he built a large file of reviews, articles, and even manuscripts for books that were never published. This is the third volume of a 4 volume collection on the best of this material.

The Schoenberg Ideap. v
Prefacep. ix
General Articlesp. 1
Modern Music: an Airplane Viewp. 3
Music in Cubap. 6
Four Modernist Composersp. 12
Modern Italian Musicp. 17
The Status of the Latin American Composerp. 23
The New World of Dodecaphonic Musicp. 50
Introductory Essayp. 56
The Marvelous Season 1912-1913p. 66
New Music in Greecep. 73
Music for a Twentieth-Century Violinistp. 85
Introductionp. 99
Individual Composersp. 127
Modern Immortalsp. 129
Caturla of Cubap. 134
Chou Wen-Chungp. 138
Henry Cowellp. 148
Howard Hanson: the "american Sibelius"p. 153
Charles Ivesp. 157
Ulysses Kayp. 170
Benjamin Lees in Excelsisp. 180
Conlon Nancarrow: Complicated Problem-Drastic Solutionp. 190
Walter Pistonp. 194
Wallingford Rieggerp. 196
Roger Sessionsp. 199
Géométrie Sonore: Edgar Varèsep. 204
Heitor Villa-Lobosp. 217
Monographp. 229
Roy Harris: Cimarron Composerp. 231
Indexp. 335
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780415968676
ISBN-10: 0415968674
Series: Nicolas Slonimsky: Writings on Music : Book 3
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 341
Published: 22nd November 2004
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.86 x 15.88  x 2.54
Weight (kg): 0.63
Edition Number: 1

Earn 664 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by