Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King : The Guardians - William Joyce

Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King

By: William Joyce, Laura Geringer

Paperback | 4 September 2018

At a Glance

Paperback


$18.50

Expected to ship in at least 4 weeks

Forget naughty or nice—this is a battle of good vs. evil.

Discover the origins of St. Nick and follow along as the Guardians start their quest to rid the world of nightmares in the first Guardians chapter book from Academy Award winner William Joyce that inspired the beloved film, The Rise of the Guardians.

Before SANTA was SANTA, he was North, Nicholas St. North—a daredevil swordsman whose prowess with double scimitars was legendary. Like any swashbuckling young warrior, North seeks treasure and adventure, leading him to the fiercely guarded village of Santoff Claussen, said to be home to the greatest treasure in all the East, and to an even greater wizard, Ombric Shalazar. But when North arrives, legends of riches have given way to terrors of epic proportions! North must decide whether to seek his fortune…or save the village.

When our rebellious hero gets sucked into the chaos (literally), the fight becomes very personal. The Nightmare King and his evil Fearlings are ruling the night, owning the shadows, and sending waves of fear through all of Santoff Clausen. For North, this is a battle worth fighting…and, he’s not alone. There are five other Guardians out there. He only has to find them in time.
Industry Reviews
"Joyce's detailed illustrations capture the multitude of fantastical settings, weapons, and creatures populating this fast-paced tale."

--"BOOKLIST, "November 1, 2011


"Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King stole my son! The book came into our house, and the boy disappeared, for hours. Eventually he returned, but it seems that his imagination never came all the way back. A part of him will always remain tangled in the deep, dark, dazzling, insouciant mythology of this latest and most wonderful of William Joyce's worlds."

--Michael Chabon, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of "The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay"


"The authors do a great job of creating excitement and intrigue, and for those who love to wend their way through extraordinary tales, this novel will not disappoint. The illustrations are wonderful charcoal, graphite, and digital renderings that convey all the magic and fear contained within the story. Fans of Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson's Peter and the Starcatchers (Hyperion, 2004) may want to give this book a try."

SLJ, January 2012


"William Joyce's magnificently creative illustrations, rendered in charcoal, graphite, and digital media have an old world feel that extends the text. In the world of fantasy, this book rises above the rest."

--"Library Media Connection, "March/April 2012

Other Editions and Formats

Hardcover

Published: 4th October 2011

More in Children, Teenagers & Young Adults (YA) Fiction

Billy And The Epic Escape - Jamie Oliver

RRP $14.99

$14.25

One By One They Disappear - Mike Lucas

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Into the Mouth of the Wolf - Erin Gough

SIGNED COPY

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Bluey : The Decider - Bluey

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Hearts That Cut - Kika Hatzopoulou

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Sea in Me - Cody Simpson

Hardcover

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Golden Gate : City Spies - James Ponti

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Different for Boys - Patrick Ness

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Protectors : Wylah the Koorie Warrior 3 - Jordan Gould

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Dark Moon: The Blood Altar, Vol. 3 : DARK MOON THE BLOOD ALTAR GN - HYBE
Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Willa and Woof 7 : Camp Chaos - Jacqueline Harvey

RRP $12.99

$12.35

House of Light and Ether : Gilded City - Leia Stone

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Bluey : The Doctor - Bluey

Board Book

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Fluff, Mess Up! : Fluff - Matt Stanton

RRP $15.99

$14.95