+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises - Fredrik Backman

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

Paperback

Published: 14th June 2016
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $19.99
$16.75
16%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 4th June 2015
Format: ePUB
$11.99

The hilarious, heart-breaking novel by the author of the international bestseller A Man Called Ove.

A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house.

Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them.

But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally?

Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown?

Seven-year-old Elsa does.

Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway.

As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own . . .

About the Author

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A Man Called Ove was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia, has sold over one million copies worldwide, was a Richard & Judy summer read in the UK and an instant New York Times paperback bestseller, and has been made into an acclaimed film. Fredrik's subsequent novels, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises and Britt-Marie Was Here, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication.

There are clear themes here, nominally: the importance of stories; the honesty of children; and the obtuseness of most adults, putting him firmly in league with the likes of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman. A touching, sometimes funny, often wise portrait of grief. - Kirkus

The author's lightness of touch is definitely a contributor towards the novel's success. (It's already a best seller in his native country.) Fredrik conveys much in a few words . . . However a special warning to the ladies summed up in three words: wear waterproof mascara! I read the last few chapters verging between heart-glowing smiles and heart-wrenching sobs. I'll be ready for it the next few times I read it though and, indeed, the times after that. - The Bookbag

A highly compelling read and it was easy to lose myself in the story - Off the Shelf

Told with the same comic accuracy and beating heart as [OVE]... It is a story about life and death and one of the most important human rights: the right to be different. - Laura's Little Book Blog

Delightful . . . there's a bit of Ove in all of us - which makes it the perfect holiday read. - Evening Standard on A Man Called Ove

It's warm, funny, and ultimately almost unbearably moving. - Daily Mail on A Man Called Ove

An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, lov

ISBN: 9781444775853
ISBN-10: 1444775855
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 14th June 2016
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 2.3
Weight (kg): 0.24
Edition Number: 1