+612 9045 4394
Music Since the First World War - Arnold Whittall

Music Since the First World War

Paperback Published: 1st February 1996
ISBN: 9780198165330
Number Of Pages: 288

Share This Book:


RRP $96.95
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

This survey of the most significant modern composers and their techniques has become a standard work on the constantly shifting musical developments during the greater part of the twentieth century. In a concise and accessible narrative, Whittall examines the continued but declining commitment to tonality, twelve-note serialism, and the gradual emergence of new aesthetic attitudes and concepts of musical form.

`stimulating survey of more than 30 composers' Paul Griffiths, Musical Times

Introductionp. 1
The Survival of Tonality
Symphonic Music I: Nielsen, Sibelius, Vaughan Williams, and othersp. 9
Bela Bartokp. 31
Igor Stravinskyp. 51
Symphonic Music II: Hindemith, Prokofiev, Shostakovich, and othersp. 69
Opera: Richard Strauss, Weill, Janacek, Prokofiev, Britten, and othersp. 93
Twelve-note Music
Arnold Schoenbergp. 119
Alban Bergp. 143
Anton Webernp. 157
The Spread of Serialism: Stravinsky, Sessions, Gerhard, Dallapiccola, Babbittp. 177
From Past to Future
The Radical Aesthetic: Satie, Varese, Cage, and othersp. 195
Three Individualists: Tippett, Messiaen, Carterp. 212
Seven Europeans: Lutoslawski, Xenakis, Ligeti, Berio, Boulez, Henze, Stockhausenp. 236
Notes on the textp. 267
Bibliographyp. 274
Indexp. 277
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780198165330
ISBN-10: 0198165331
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 1st February 1996
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.81 x 12.93  x 1.55
Weight (kg): 0.19