+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Murder in the Telephone Exchange - June Wright

Murder in the Telephone Exchange

Paperback

Published: 1st November 2013
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
RRP $24.95
$22.80
if ordered within

eBook View Product

Published: 17th February 2014
Format: PDF
$21.75

First published in 1948, when it was the best-selling mystery of the year in the author’s native Australia, Murder in the Telephone Exchange stars feisty young operator Maggie Byrnes. When one of her more unpopular colleagues is murdered — her head bashed in with a “buttinsky,” a piece of equipment used to listen in on phone calls — Maggie resolves to turn sleuth. Some of her coworkers are acting strangely, and Maggie is convinced she has a better chance of figuring out who is responsible for the killing than the rather stolid police team assigned to the case, who seem to think she herself might have had something to do with it. But then one of her friends is murdered too, and it looks like Maggie might be next. Narrated with verve and wit, this is a whodunit in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Daphne du Maurier, by turns entertaining and suspenseful, and building to a gripping climax.

About the Author

June Wright (1919–2012) was born in Melbourne, Australia, and in her lifetime published six mystery novels, beginning with Murder in the Telephone Exchange in 1948.

WRITE A REVIEW

A great, classic page turner

5

A great read with such descriptive backgrounds that you are immersed and traipsing around a younger Melbourne in the middle of a long hot summer before you know it!

Melbourne

true

A great read!

4

This was a pleasant surprise - a new (to me!) Australian crime author - very evocative of Melbourne in the 1940s, and a great read! Looking forward to reading her other two books to be released in December

Kempsey, AU

true

don;t judge a book by it's cover

2

wasn't what I thought it would be, found it really hard to get into, didn't bother to finish.

mallee

false

Murder in the Telephone Exchange

3.7 3

66.7

"A classic English-style mystery with a perky heroine reminiscent of Georgette Heyer s clever sleuths, packed with detail and menace." ("Kirkus Reviews," April 1, 2014) "An engaging porthole into the past, with lively characters and inventive plotting." ("Publishers Weekly," April 7, 2014)"

ISBN: 9781891241376
ISBN-10: 1891241370
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 330
Published: 1st November 2013
Publisher: Puncture Publications
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.5  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.4