+612 9045 4394
Monteverdi : Master Musicians Series - Denis Arnold


Master Musicians Series

Paperback Published: 1st January 1996
ISBN: 9780198164654
Number Of Pages: 256

Share This Book:


RRP $41.95
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Celebrating its 100th anniversary, this extraordinary series continues to amaze and captivate its readers with detailed insight into the lives and work of music's geniuses. Unlike other composer biographies that focus narrowly on the music, this series explores the personal history of each composer and the social context surrounding the music. In a precise, engaging, and authoritative manner, each volume combines a vivid portrait of the master musicians' inspirations, influences, life experiences, even their weaknesses, with an accessible discussion of their work--all in roughly 300 pages. Further, each volume offers superb reference material, including a detailed life and times chronology, a complete list of works, a personalia glossary highlighting the important people in the composer's life, and a select bibliography. Under the supervision of music expert and series general editor Stanley Sadie, Master Musicians will certainly proceed to delight music scholars, serious musicians, and all music lovers for another hundred years.

"Covers Monteverdi's life and works with admirable completeness. The chapters on the dramatic music and the composer's reputation are especially valuable."--Composer

ISBN: 9780198164654
ISBN-10: 0198164653
Series: Master Musicians Series
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 1st January 1996
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.29 x 13.31  x 1.98
Weight (kg): 0.25
Edition Number: 3
Edition Type: Revised