Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Monstrous Heart : The Deepwater Trilogy - Claire McKenna

Monstrous Heart

By: Claire McKenna

Paperback | 10 September 2021

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A sensational debut novel: gothic, romantic gaslamp fantasy at it’s very best. A magical tale of intrigue on dangerous waters and a love story for the ages. Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and China Mieville

Arden Beacon arrives in the salt-swept port of Vigil with a job to do. Tasked with using the magic in her blood to keep the lighthouse burning, she needs to prove herself worthy of her family name and her ancestors’ profession.

But the coastline Arden must keep alight – battered by a sea teeming with colossal, ancient beasts – is far from the cultured, urban world she knows. It is a place of secrets, rumours and tight-lipped expectations of a woman’s place. More than anyone, the town folk whisper about Arden’s neighbour, Jonah Riven, the hunter of leviathans. They say he murdered his wife. They say he is as much a monster as his prey.

Amidst all her determination and homesickness Arden cannot get this shadowy stranger out of her head. A plot swirls around the lighthouse keeper, the hunter and the authorities. Arden must make sense of these dark waters – before they wash her away.

About the Author

Claire McKenna is a speculative fiction writer from Melbourne, Australia. Claire grew up in Auckland, New Zealand and came to Australia when she was young. Her stories decided to come with her. A longtime writer of short fiction with a background in environmental sciences, Monstrous Heart is Claire's debut novel.

More in Fantasy Fiction

Empire Of The Vampire : Empire Of The Vampire - Jay Kristoff
Throne of Glass : Throne of Glass - Sarah J. Maas

RRP $22.99

$21.75

The Rising : The Branded Season: Book 2 - Jo Riccioni

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Bone Rites - Natalie Bayley

FREE SHIPPING

Paperback

RRP $21.99

$20.90

The Witchfinder's Mark : A Samuel Hawke Story - Paul M Clark

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$19.95

33%
OFF
Berserk: Deluxe Edition, Vol. 12 : Berserk - Kentaro Miura

RRP $84.99

$56.25

34%
OFF
Dragon Rider - Taran Matharu

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Destroy the Day : Defy the Night - Brigid Kemmerer

RRP $17.99

$17.25

The North Wind : The Four Winds - Alexandria Warwick

RRP $32.99

$30.25

House of Flame and Shadow : Crescent City: Book 3 - Sarah J. Maas

RRP $45.00

$37.95

16%
OFF
House of Flame and Shadow : Crescent City: Book 3 - Sarah J. Maas
The Gathering - C. J. Tudor

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Hidden Queen : The Nightfall Saga - Peter V. Brett

RRP $35.99

$32.50

10%
OFF
The Hobbit - J R R Tolkien

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$17.25