+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Mississippi Vegan : Recipes and Stories from a Southern Boy's Heart - Timothy Pakron

Mississippi Vegan

Recipes and Stories from a Southern Boy's Heart

Hardcover Published: 23rd October 2018
ISBN: 9780735218147
Number Of Pages: 320

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $59.99
$46.75
22%
OFF
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Celebrate the gorgeous and delicious possibilities of plant-based southern cuisine.

Inspired by the landscape and flavors of his childhood on the Mississippi gulf coast, Timothy Pakron found his heart, soul, and calling in cooking the Cajun, Creole, and southern classics of his youth. In his debut cookbook, he shares 125 plant-based recipes, all of which substitute ingredients without sacrificing depth of flavor and reveal the secret tradition of veganism in southern cooking.

Finding ways to re-create his experiences growing up in the South - making mud pies and admiring the deep pink azaleas - on the plate, Pakron looks to history and nature as his guides to creating the richest food possible. Filled with as many evocative photographs and stories as easy-to-follow recipes, Mississippi Vegan is an ode to the transporting and ethereal beauty of the food and places you love.

About the Author

Timothy Pakron is a passionate cook, artist, and photographer, and the creator of the blog Mississippi Vegan. Before devoting himself to the culinary arts, he spent time as a fine artist in Charleston, South Carolina, and New York City. He currently lives and works in New Orleans.

"Tim's the real deal - he forages, cooks, and shoots his own beautiful photos. You're going to love this book." - Jamie Oliver

"A wildly talented photographer... Pakron follows in the tradition of Truman Capote, Eugene Walter, Ryan Gainey and Scott Peacock to evince a lush tribute to a mythic time and place." - The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

"From the state that gave us Eudora Welty, William Faulkner, Tennessee Williams, Donna Tartt and Julia Reed, Mississippi Vegan is a soulful and affecting self-portrait by a Southern original." - The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

"Inspired by plants and mushrooms and the complex flavors and rich history of southern style cooking, Timothy's culinary world is a magical one. Here he shares his secrets for achieving delicious and deeply satisfying vegan meals - I'm thrilled to finally be able to make his famous gumbo in my own kitchen!" - Amy Chaplin, James Beard award-winning author of At Home in the Whole Food Kitchen: Celebrating the Art of Eating Well

"Every component of this book is richly layered with vivid storytelling, a genuine loyalty to tradition, an angle of accessibility that doesn't dumb down when it comes to important regional ingredients, and the passion for a new world of flavor in vegan cuisine. Timothy opens up his culinary point of view in a stunningly beautiful way that aims straight for the heart. His joyful sincerity is encouraging and real." - Laura Wright, author of The First Mess Cookbook

"I love how Timothy uses fresh, vibrant ingredients to create colorful dishes with a Southern twist. With its beautiful photography, accessible recipes, helpful guides, and lovely stories, Mississippi Vegan will most definitely become a staple in my kitchen." - Linda Lomelino, author of Lomelino's Pies

Foreword by Isa Chandra Moskowitz
Introduction
Southern Vegan

1. Breakfasts, breads & biscuits
2. Snacks, drinks & appetizers
3. Sandwiches & salads
4. Soups & stews
5. Gumbo, rice & mains
6. Sides
7. Desserts
8. Sauces, condiments & staples
9. Wellness

Acknowledgments
Index

ISBN: 9780735218147
ISBN-10: 0735218145
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 23rd October 2018
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 26.1 x 21.3  x 2.9
Weight (kg): 1.13
Edition Number: 1