+612 9045 4394
Mendelssohn : The Hebrides and Other Overtures - R. Larry Todd


The Hebrides and Other Overtures

Paperback Published: 29th November 1993
ISBN: 9780521407649
Number Of Pages: 132

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

The concert overtures A Midsummer Night's Dream, Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, and The Hebrides (Fingal's Cave), conceived by Mendelssohn before the age of twenty, have ranked among the most enduring of the nineteenth-century orchestral repertoire. R. Larry Todd offers a historical, stylistic, and analytical guide to these three remarkable works. His clearly structured and accessible text is supported by a wealth of primary documents, including Mendelssohn's correspondence, memoirs of his friends, and nineteenth-century critical reviews.

"...Todd certainly does deal eloquently with the intertext between Mendelssohn's stance and that of the aethetician Adolph B. Marx, particularly in relation to their respective work around Goethe and Shakespeare." Steve Sweeney-Turner, The Musical Times

Musical influences
Formal considerations: a synoptic overview
The Overture as programmatic music
Some thoughts on Mendelssohn's orchestration
Influence and reception of the overtures
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521407649
ISBN-10: 0521407648
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 132
Published: 29th November 1993
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.84 x 14.12  x 0.94
Weight (kg): 0.18