+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Marge In Charge : Why follow the rules when you can invent your own? - Isla Fisher

Marge In Charge

Why follow the rules when you can invent your own?

By: Isla Fisher, Eglantine Ceulemans (Illustrator)

Paperback

Published: 1st August 2016
For Ages: 6 - 9 years old
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $14.99
$10.95
27%
OFF

Booktopia Comments

Order this product, or any product from our Kids Month showcase by September 30th, and you could win a kids themed book pack worth $1000 RRP! Terms and Conditions apply.

Product Description

Jemima and Jake's new babysitter doesn't look too promising. In fact she looks very sensible, very old and VERY small (she only comes up to daddy's armpit!). But the moment their parents leave the house, Marge gives a mischievous wink, takes off her hat and reveals a marvellous mane of rainbow-coloured hair!

Marge really is a babysitter like no other and the children spend a wild evening with her - racing snails, slurping chocolate soup and mixing potions in the bath! But if Jake and Jemima want her to babysit again it's time for them to take charge of Marge, tidy up and settle her down for a little sleep.

Three hilarious, anarchic and charming MARGE stories from A-list actress, mother, writer and comedian Isla Fisher.

About the Author

Isla Fisher began acting as a child and has worked solidly in television and film for the past 25 years. She has appeared in Home And Away, The Great Gatsby and Definitely Maybe, to name a few. She also studied in Paris to become a clown for two years before realising that there is not much call for miming 'the wall'! Isla has played many roles over the years, from a bonkers bridesmaid in Wedding Crashers to the poster girl for consumerism in Confessions Of A Shopaholic. But her favourite role has been being a mummy to daughters Olive and Elula and son Montgomery. Isla has been making up stories at bedtime for them every night since they were born. These books are for her children, as a reminder of all the fun they have at bedtime reading books and sharing stories.

About the Illustrator

Eglantine Ceulemans spent her childhood reading Belgian comics. In 2007 she joined the Emile Cohl School of Art in Lyon, France, transforming her passion for illustration into a vocation. She loves working in an intuitive way, combining humor and sensitivity, and using different mediums and techniques. Eglantine currently resides in Lyon.

WRITE A REVIEW

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Marge In Charge
 
4.6

(based on 5 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (3)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (2)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

100%

of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Pros

  • Deserves multiple readings (4)
  • Well written (4)
  • Easy to read (3)

Cons

No Cons

Best Uses

  • Younger readers (5)
  • Gift (3)
    • Reviewer Profile:
    • Bookworm (3)

Reviewed by 5 customers

Displaying reviews 1-5

Back to top

 
4.0

A great book that reaches out to the imagination

By 

from Sydney

About Me Everyday Reader

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Gift
    • Younger Readers

    Comments about Marge In Charge:

    This book had us laughing and created much discussion around the magical babysitter and how fun life can be.

    (0 of 1 customers found this review helpful)

     
    4.0

    I'm looking out for her other titles

    By 

    from Upper Hunter, Australia

    About Me Everyday Reader

    Verified Buyer

    Pros

    • A treat for both reader and listener.
    • Deserves Multiple Readings
    • Easy To Read
    • Engaging characters
    • Well Written

    Cons

      Best Uses

      • Gift
      • Older Readers
      • Special Needs
      • Younger Readers

      Comments about Marge In Charge:

      A treat for my granddaughter and myself!

       
      5.0

      It was a great funny book.

      By 

      from Whyalla

      About Me Bookworm

      Verified Buyer

      Pros

      • Easy To Read

      Cons

        Best Uses

        • Younger Readers

        Comments about Marge In Charge:

        This was a great easy read and u heard so much about this book from the author herself.

         
        5.0

        I loved this book

        By 

        from Adelaide, south Australia

        About Me Bookworm

        Verified Buyer

        Pros

        • Deserves Multiple Readings
        • Easy To Read
        • Engaging characters
        • Well Written

        Cons

          Best Uses

          • Gift
          • Younger Readers

          Comments about Marge In Charge:

          I bought this book for my grandchild who loves listening!!!

          (1 of 2 customers found this review helpful)

           
          5.0

          Highly recommended by Miss 7. Best Book Ever!

          By 

          from Richmond, AU

          About Me Bookworm

          Pros

          • Deserves Multiple Readings
          • Engaging
          • Hilarious
          • Well Written

          Cons

            Best Uses

            • Younger Readers

            Comments about Marge In Charge:

            My 5 and 7 year old daughters have utterly loved reading this book. They are absolute bookworms and have devoured all the usual classics for their age/reading ability (Blyton, Dahl, Treehouse Series, EJ12) and now Madge is their new favourite character ever! PLEASE WRITE MORE ISLA FISHER!!! My girls are desperate for the next installment. Very refreshing, funny, engaging. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

            Displaying reviews 1-5

            Back to top

            This is a delightful collection of three short stories that children will love (...) Full of hilarity, this is a great debut book.' * parentsintouch.co.uk * Fisher's debut novel, is the comic tale of an anarchic babysitter who causes mayhem. Perfect for reading aloud. * The Daily Express * The plentiful illustrations and the length of the stories (individually about fifty pages each) will appeal to competent readers ready to embark on solo reading and Marge's crazy tales of pink flamingos and being sawn in half will entertain anyone who enjoys a giggle * Reading Zone * The stories have a lovely family feel to them. Jake is a very 'real' little boy- certainly no angel. He won't eat broccoli and hates washing his hair, but Marge finds ways of making these fun things to do. Their warm relationship with Marge shows that older people can be fun to be around and celebrates cross generation relationships. Their parents are busy, but interested and loving - it's a happy home! The illustrations are delightful, bringing the characters to life and there are plenty of them, capturing the sense of fun in each story. There are three fun stories in this book, perfect for children starting to read independently and wanting achievable, satisfying stories * The Book Blog, North Somerset Teacher's Book Award * Fisher has an incredible knack for comedy, and she's managed to transfer this to the page in a way which will make six to nine year old readers chuckle relentlessly' * Bath Life * Imaginative and original tale for kids...an accessible, family friendly style making it perfect for parents to read out loud or for kids to read on their own -- Kathryn White * Kathryn's Inbox Website * David Walliams possibly needs to move over slightly as Isla is definitely in charge! * Askew's Reader Development website * It was a refreshing change to find Jemima, the child, cleaning up after Marge, the adult, falls asleep, Marge is one of those characters I can't wait to read more about. I think this is a series that could run and run * Serendipity Reviews Book Blog * If Roald Dahl had written Mary Poppins - that's Isla Fisher's Marge in Charge. Con really loved reading this book for settle down time. Beautifully illustrated and split into three fun stories. Fans of Dahl and Walliams will need to read Marge in Charge. Highly Recommended!!! * Kid Cool Lit Book Blog * Fresh, fun and family friendly stories * AGreatRead.co.uk * An outrageously imaginative and original tale for kids ... and any adult who cares to join in...reminiscent to Roald Dahl... an accessible, family friendly style making it perfect for parents to read out loud or for kids to read on their own * Kathryn's Inbox * Marge is the best babysitter ever! The illustrations definitely enhanced the hilarity of the story, I especially liked the 2 mice who kept appearing...Definitely hope to read more of Marge in the future! * Nayu's Reading Corner * Loved this book, such a funny and engaging read! This will make a brilliant series of books for younger readers...I can think if quite a few children who would love Marge to babysit! Certainly recommended * Independent Book Reviews * Three warm, funny stories of Saturnalian mischief * The Guardian, Review * Marge is a gently anarchic heroine, and a welcome addition to Hollywood bedtime stories -- James Kidd * SCMP.com * Children in the 6-10 year age range will have a great time reading about Marge in Charge but when they start to laugh out loud at some of the goings-on, be warned and make sure you let your next babysitter know they have been reading Marge in Charge! A great fun read for one and all * Blue Wolf Reviews * Marge really is a babysitter like no other! * Parent Talk Magazine * Marge in Charge is a hilarious, entertaining collection of stories about the magic that Marge brings to Jake and Jemima's life. Isla Fisher's stories about Marge will have children laughing out loud and wishing they had a babysitter who was this much fun * My Best Friends are Books * In an effort to shake things up we have joined the local library and discovered some longer 'chapter stories' as Coco likes to call them. One such book that landed on my desk over the summer is Marge in Charge - which documents the adventures of a mischievous babysitter with rainbow-coloured hair. Penned by Isla Fisher - as in Isla Fisher of Home and Away - we have had such fun reading a few chapters of it every evening. * Sheerluxe.com * Charming, funny, delightful: Marge is the babysitter all children would wish for. * David Baddiel * Three hilarious, anarchic and charming MARGE stories from A-list actress, mother, writer and comedian Isla Fisher. Marge really is a babysitter like no other and the children spend a wild evening with her - racing snails, slurping chocolate soup and mixing potions in the bath! * Good Housekeeping *

            ISBN: 9781848125339
            ISBN-10: 184812533X
            Series: Marge
            Audience: Children
            For Ages: 6 - 9 years old
            Format: Paperback
            Language: English
            Number Of Pages: 176
            Published: 1st August 2016
            Publisher: Templar Publishing
            Country of Publication: GB
            Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 1.2
            Weight (kg): 0.15