Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Madman Walking - L.F. Robertson

Madman Walking

By: L.F. Robertson

Paperback | 1 August 2018

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Appellate lawyer Janet Moodie is called in to work on a post-conviction investigation on a sordid murder-for-hire case. The client is uncooperative, likely schizophrenic, although he’s never let a psychiatrist near him long enough to get a diagnosis.

Convicted of arranging the shooting of a drug dealer, under orders from the Aryan Brotherhood, Howard Henley is not an easy case, and even on death row he doesn’t seem to understand the severity of his situation. It is up to Janet to discover just what was done and by whom, and to determine whether to risk putting her client on trial again…

About the Author

L.F. Robertson is a practising defense attorney who for the last two decades has handled only death penalty appeals. Linda is the co-author of The Complete Idiots Guide to Unsolved Mysteries, and a contributor to the forensic handbooks How to Try a Murder and Irrefutable Evidence. She has had short stories published in the anthologies My Sherlock Holmes, Sherlock Holmes: the Hidden Years and Sherlock Holmes: The American Years.
Industry Reviews
"Mostly retired California defense attorney Janet Moodie returns (following Two Lost Boys, 2017) in this thoughtful legal procedural....The author is an attorney who handles death-penalty appeals, and she does a fine job of incorporating details about the process, funding, and other aspects of investigating and presenting a death-penalty appeal case. Another strength of the series is a protagonist who takes her time. Janet is a widow who goes to yoga with a friend because she knows it's not healthy to spend all her time alone. She works and gardens and has the occasional brunch with friends. She's not a heroine in a thriller; she's an actual grown-up who does hard work and lives her life." - Booklist

"Readers who enjoy Ruth Ware and Megan Miranda will enjoy this book." - San Francisco Book Review

"Often meditative and always compassionate...a must-read for anyone curious as to the lives and work involved with legal defense in modern-day America" Criminal Element

"A highly realistic legal procedural that is refreshingly honest about the way the system works, and without the extra filler that you often find in legal thrillers. A must read." The Crime Review

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction

Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Midnight Feast - Lucy Foley

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Death in the Air - Ram Murali

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Year of the Locust - Terry Hayes

RRP $22.99

$21.90

What Happened to Nina? : The No. 1 Bestseller - Dervla McTiernan
The Kellerby Code : 'Magnificent' Richard Osman - Jonny Sweet
Lone Wolf - Gregg Hurwitz

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Shock Waves - Fleur McDonald

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Gathering - C. J. Tudor

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
Day One - Abigail Dean

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Marlow Murder Club - Robert Thorogood

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Man Who Died Twice : Thursday Murder Club: Book 2 - Richard Osman