+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Little Pea - Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Hardcover Published: 17th February 2005
ISBN: 9780811846585
Number Of Pages: 36
For Ages: 2 - 4 years old

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $31.99
$28.50
11%
OFF
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

If Little Pea doesn't eat all of his sweets, there will be no vegetables for dessert! What's a young pea to do? Children who have trouble swallowing their veggies will love the way this pea-size picture book serves up a playful story they can relate to.

A crowd pleaser in the tradition of Mitchell Sharmat's Gregory, The Terrible Eater (1980), illustrated by Jose Aruego and Ariane Dewey, this simply told and illustrated episode features both a decidedly atypical family (all head, no body) facing a similar dinnertime issue, and a delicious final twist. Little Pea's generally a happy legume, hanging with friends, rolling down hills, and being catapulted off a spoon by Papa Pea--but meals are always fraught, for Little Pea hates candy, which as you know (you didn't?) is all that peas eat. "If you don't finish your candy, you can't have dessert," says Mama Pea. Negotiating his quota down to five cellophane-wrapped pieces, Little Pea proceeds to choke them down--"Three. Plck. Four. Pleh."--then jumps for joy at dessert's arrival--a heaping bowl of spinach. Expect bursts of hilarity from young listeners, picky eaters or no. Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Picky eaters will enjoy the subtle humor of this topsy-turvy tale." School Library Journal


"Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Jen Corace strike beautiful balance between story and art in 'Little Pea' (2005), a book that pedagogues might point out teaches basic physics and math while poking fun at picky eaters. This critic prefers to describe it as a family portrait of legumes in which the baby has to eat all his candy in order to get spinach for dessert." The New York Times

ISBN: 9780811846585
ISBN-10: 081184658X
Audience: Children
For Ages: 2 - 4 years old
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 36
Published: 17th February 2005
Publisher: CHRONICLE BOOKS
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.3 x 21.0  x 0.9
Weight (kg): 0.29
Edition Number: 1