+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Listening For God : A Ministers Journey Through Silence And Doubt - Renita J. Weems

Listening For God

A Ministers Journey Through Silence And Doubt

Paperback Published: 5th December 2000
ISBN: 9780684863139
Number Of Pages: 208

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 61 Qantas Points
on this Book

Throughout the past two decades, Renita J. Weems has been noted and praised for her writing, galvanizing national speaking, and pioneering scholarship in the field of Old Testament studies. Yet in the midst of her celebrated work, she was experiencing a profound spiritual crisis permeated by a hollow, painful silence that seemed, at times, to mark an irreparable rupture in her communication with God.

In this deeply affecting book, Weems addresses the believer's yearning for God through periods of inconstancy, vacillation, and disenchantment. Her own spiritual disquietude will be familiar to all who struggle to maintain faith while the details of daily life -- negotiating with children and spouses, caring for ailing parents, living up to professional expectations, developing hobbies, managing finances, and planning for the future -- compete for energy with one's relationship with God. In sharing her own strategies for redefining mundane rituals so that they contribute to reverence and devotion, Weems offers a beacon of light for all believers struggling to listen for God amidst the din of worldly demands and distractions.

Industry Reviews

Essence Anyone who has fought to hang on to faith amidst life's difficulties, large and small, will find this book a gem worth keeping. Colman McCarthy The Washington Post Book World Weems' book, a deep well of reflective and often uplifting prose, shows a writer confessionally and candidly explaining the burdens of believing...While Weems listens to her Almighty, readers can listen to her -- and hear the voice of a wise and doubt-challenging woman who writes as powerfully as she believes.

The Mystery of Silence and Prayer
Stumbling in the Silence
Around and Around
Surrender to the Silence
Believing in Believing
A Chance Encounter
Teach Us to Pray
I Know Why Sarah Laughed
The Longest Prayer
Ordinary Time
Blessed Quietness
Saint Fallow
Come Sunday
The Mystery of Ministry
And the Word Became Flesh
I Too Have a Dream
The Welcome Table
The Tap of an Angel
Holy Ground
The Itinerant Journey
The Mystery of Marriage and Mothering
Behold, I Show You a Mystery
Mother's Day
The Grace of Daily Obligation
If I Knew Then What I Know Now
The Mystery of Miracles
Eternal Life
The Music of Noise
Lord, There's Been a Great Change in Me
The Last Day for Miracles
Behold, I Show You a Mystery
When the Bush Stops Burning
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780684863139
ISBN-10: 0684863138
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 208
Published: 5th December 2000
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.26 x 14.05  x 1.35
Weight (kg): 0.2
Edition Number: 1

Earn 61 Qantas Points
on this Book