+612 9045 4394
Lavery Plays : 1: Origin of the Species; Two Marias; Her Aching Heart; Nothing Compares to You - Bryony Lavery

Lavery Plays

1: Origin of the Species; Two Marias; Her Aching Heart; Nothing Compares to You

Paperback Published: 1st January 1998
ISBN: 9780413723406
Number Of Pages: 228

Share This Book:
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

For the first time, Bryony Lavery's plays back in print in one volume

Includes the plays Her Aching Heart, Nothing Compares to You, The Two Marias and Origin of the Species. Her Aching Heart is "a deliciously irreverent parody of the historical romance, better known as the bonk-buster…Georgette Heyer never wrote anything quite like it, however and Barbara Cartland would be more than confused by this lesbian romance…hilarious" (Guardian); Nothing Compares to You is an evocation of a woman experiencing the loss of a loved one in the aftermath of a car accident "The characters may be touched by death but laughter is never far away…A haunting show of hidden depth" (Birmingham Post); "In Bryony Lavery's quirky Origin of the Species, an ardent archaeologist digging for prehistoric man finds instead a four-million-year old woman…a telling allegory of the loss of innocence…Lavery's wit and imagination are unquestionably present." (Obersver)

Introduced by the author, Bryony Lavery's last play Goliath (adapted from Bea Campbell's book) was a hit at the Bush Theatre in 1997. Bryony Lavery is one of Britain's foremost female playwrights.

A Chronology
Origin of the Speciesp. 1
Two Mariasp. 49
Her Aching Heartp. 85
Nothing Compares to Youp. 143
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780413723406
ISBN-10: 0413723402
Series: Contemporary Dramatists
Audience: BAC
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 228
Published: 1st January 1998
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 20.4 x 13.0  x 0.9
Weight (kg): 0.26
Edition Number: 1

This product is categorised by