+612 9045 4394
Knots & Crosses / Hide & Seek / Tooth & Nail : Rebus : The Early Years Books 1-3 - Ian Rankin

Knots & Crosses / Hide & Seek / Tooth & Nail

Rebus : The Early Years Books 1-3

Paperback Published: 18th May 2000
ISBN: 9780752837994
Number Of Pages: 612

Share This Book:
Ships in 15 business days

KNOTS & CROSSES: Two girls have been abducted and brutally murdered. Now a third is missing. Detective Sergeant John Rebus, his own young daughter spirited away south by his disenchanted wife, is one of the policemen hunting the killer. And then the messages begin to arrive: knotted string and matchstick crosses - taunting Rebus with pieces of a puzzle only he can solve '

HIDE & SEEK: A junkie lies dead in an Edinburgh squat. Just another addict, until Inspector Rebus begins to chip away at the indifference, treachery, deceit and sleaze that lurk behind the facade of the city familiar to tourists. And only Rebus seems to care about a death that looks more like murder every day, a death that appeals to the darkest corners of his mind.

TOOTH & NAIL: Drafted down to the Big Smoke thanks to a supposed expertise in the modus operandi of serial killers, Inspector Rebus is on the trail of a man who, due to his penchant for taking a bite from each of his victims, is known as the Wolfman. When Rebus is offered a profile of the Wolfman by an attractive lady psychologist, it seems too good an opportunity to turn down. But in finding an ally, he may have given his enemies an easy means of attack '

About the Author

Ian Rankin lives with his wife and two sons in Edinburgh having returned from a six year sojourn in France.

Industry Reviews

Many consider Rankin the most important crime fiction practitioner in Britain (never, of course, forgetting that his novels depict a brilliantly drawn Scottish milieu). This cleverly conceived volume collects three of the early Rebus adventures. Rankin's crackling dialogue, the hard-hitting characterization and the brilliantly realized locales are present in all three, Hide and Seek being the most distinguished. In his customary laconic way, Rebus deals with the abduction and murder of two girls in Knots and Crosses, and a dark mystery that begins with the death of an Edinburgh junkie is the subject of Hide and Seek. Rebus is drafted to London for the compelling Tooth and Nail. Reading all three in succession, it's striking to note how rarely Rankin repeats himself: the plotting is always fresh and newly minted, with Rebus obliged to solve satisfyingly labyrinthine mysteries. If you've already read the later novels, this is the perfect chance to catch up on the early books. But if you realize that an introduction to Scotland's most intuitively brilliant copper is overdue, there's simply no better place to start than in this highly collectable volume. (Kirkus UK)

ISBN: 9780752837994
ISBN-10: 0752837990
Series: A Rebus Novel
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 612
Published: 18th May 2000
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 15.2  x 4.5
Weight (kg): 0.8
Edition Number: 1

Ian Rankin

About the Author

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into twenty-two languages and are bestsellers on several continents.

Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for '
Resurrection Men'. He has also been shortlisted for the Edgar and Anthony Awards in the USA, and won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis.

Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews and Edinburgh.

A contributor to BBC2's 'Newsnight Review', he also presented his own TV series, 'Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts'. He recently received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.

Visit Ian Rankin's Booktopia Author Page

This product is categorised by