+612 9045 4394
King of Ashes : The Firemane Saga: Book 1 - Raymond E Feist

King of Ashes

The Firemane Saga: Book 1

Hardcover Published: 26th April 2018
ISBN: 9780007264858
Number Of Pages: 560

Share This Book:


Ships in 15 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 31st December 2018

A new novel from internationally bestselling author Raymond E. Feist.

The world of Garn once boasted five great kingdoms, until the King of Ithrace was defeated and every member of his family executed by Lodavico, the ruthless King of Sandura, a man with ambitions to rule the world.

Ithrace's ruling family were the legendary Firemanes, and represented a great danger to the other kings. Now four great kingdoms remain, on the brink of war. But rumour has it that the newborn son of the last king of Ithrace survived, carried off during battle and sequestered by the Quelli Nacosti, a secret society whose members are trained to infiltrate and spy upon the rich and powerful throughout Garn. Terrified that this may be true, and that the child will grow to maturity with bloody revenge in his heart, the four kings have placed a huge bounty on the child's head.

In the small village of Oncon, Declan is apprenticed to a master blacksmith, learning the secrets of producing the mythical king's steel. Oncon is situated in the Covenant, a neutral region lying between two warring kingdoms. Since the Covenant was declared, the region has existed in peace, until violence explodes as slavers descend upon the village to capture young men to press as soldiers for Sandura.

Declan must escape, to take his priceless knowledge to Baron Daylon Dumarch, ruler of Marquensas, perhaps the only man who can defeat Lodavico of Sandura, who has now allied himself with the fanatical Church of the One, which is marching across the continent, imposing its extreme form of religion upon the population and burning unbelievers as they go.

Meanwhile, on the island of Coaltachin, the secret domain of the Quelli Nacosti, three friends are being schooled in the deadly arts of espionage and assassination: Donte, son of one of the most powerful masters of the order; Hava, a serious girl with fighting abilities that can set any opponent on their back; and Hatu, a strange, conflicted lad in whom fury and calm war constantly, whose hair is a bright and fiery shade of red…


Raymond E Feist hits the mark again


I have loved this writer since I was a teen and was so excited to find out he had another book coming out and it didn't disappoint. I was captivated from the start and couldn't put it down. I got the first release of the book and there was some spelling errors and misused words which the author says was to do with a corrupt file but that should be fixed by now.



Fresh start from a classic author


Have always been a fan of Feist. Magician being one of the first fantasy books I ever read. Having followed his previous works it had always been nice being in Midkemia for all these years. But it had started to feel a little of the same, 30 odd books staring the same cast can do that. King of Ashes was a great read, the characters were down to earth and understandable. The world felt knew and fresh but with plenty of lore ready to be discovered. One of the highlights for me was that for a fantasy novel, the world didn't feel doused in MAGIC, everything seemed very grounded and almost historic. Magic feels more superstitious than an everyday things, which was nice in a Feist book. The characters grow on you slowly as the book has a slow build and is great to knock out in a couple of sittings or casually work through as it's pace keeps you intrigued but chapters are structured so don't feel like the world will end if you put it down. I was very happy with my purchase and will be keeping a keen eye out for the following book in the trilogy.



Great first book in new series


Thoroughly enjoyed the tale. Looking forward to the next book



An Interesting New World from an Amazing Author!


As a massive fan of Mr Feist this book did not disappoint. A fresh world with new characters and a compelling story. Can't wait for book 2!

Tamworth NSW


Big fan of Raymond E Feist!


Was a little slow to start with, but thoroughly enjoyed the new book. Cannot wait for the next instalment in the the series.

Queensland, Australia


it sucked me in, can;t wait for the next instalment


reading this book distracted me from doing other things.

Queensland Australia


Love this author's writing


I found this book a little difficult to get into at first but that was probably because I was waiting for familiar characters to appear, having read all his other books. This is completely new and although I am still in the early stages of the book, I can't wait to continue reading.

South Australia


King of Ashes


Bought this book for mum as she is a HUGE Raymond Fiest fan.

South Australia


King of Ashes

4.8 8


`File under guilty pleasure'

`Get in at the start of a master's new series'

`A delightful fantasy novel, full of simple magic, fighting, political intrigue, and religious strife'
BOOKLIST (starred review)

`Epic scope...vivid imagination...a significant contribution to the growth of the field of fantasy'

ISBN: 9780007264858
ISBN-10: 0007264852
Series: Firemane
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 560
Published: 26th April 2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.4 x 16.2  x 4.5
Weight (kg): 0.81

Raymond E. Feist

About the Author

Raymond E. Feist (full name Raymond Elias Feist), is a Southern Californian by birth and a San Diegan by choice. He was educated at the University of California, San Diego, where he received his B.A. in Communication Arts with Honours in 1977.

A New York Times, and Times of London Best-seller, he is the author of Magician, Silverthorn, and A Darkness at Sethanon, the three novels comprising The Riftwar Saga, the first series in the Arc that has become known as the Riftwar Cycle. Other works include the Empire Trilogy (co-authored with Janny Wurts), Krondor's Sons, comprising Prince of the Blood and The Kings Buccaneer, and Faerie Tale a dark-fantasy set in contemporary America. Subsequently he wrote  the Serpentwar Saga, and The Riftwar Legacy series which is based in part on the hugely successful computer games set in his universe, Betrayal at Krondor and Return to Krondor.Picture of Raymond E Feist 1982

In more recent collaborations, we saw the arrival of the Legends of the Riftwar, which included, Honoured Enemy with William Forstchen, Murder in LaMut with Joel Rosenberg, and Jimmy the Hand with Steve M. Stirling.

Following a move to the Eastern Realms, he has introduced us to Talon of the Silverhawk and the Conclave of the Shadows. The subsequent trilogy, the Darkwar Saga comprising Flight of the Nighthawks, Into a Dark Realm, and Wrath of a Mad God.

His latest book in the growing Riftwar Cycle, being Rides a Dread Legion, the first book in the new Demonwar Saga.

Hobbies include collecting movies on DVD, fine wine, books on the history of Professional Football, and the works of American Illustrators.

Visit Raymond E. Feist's Booktopia Author Page

Read More
This product is categorised by