+612 9045 4394
Kepler : The Revolutions Trilogy 2 - John Banville


The Revolutions Trilogy 2

Paperback Published: 1st December 2010
ISBN: 9780330372336
Number Of Pages: 208

Other Formats

Share This Book:


Limited Stock Available
RRP $22.95
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Johannes Kepler, born in 1571 in south Germany, was one of the world's greatest mathematicians and astronomers. The author of this book uses this history as a background to his novel, writing a work of historical fiction that is rooted in poverty, squalor and the tyrannical power of emperors.

Industry Reviews

Johannes Kepler, born in 1571 in Swabia, south-west Germany, was one of the greatest mathematicians and astronomers of all time. Banville brings Kepler's life and struggle to live in vividly realized scenes whose visual detail is reminiscent of Old Master paintings. While Kepler works towards his famous discovery that the pattern of planetary motion is elliptical, the reader is entertained by an earthy account of the pains and humiliations of his everyday life with his sharp-tongued wife Barbara and his tyrannical, unpredictable patrons. The result is a novel which manages to be intellectually challenging while delivering an entertaining account of the trials of everyday life in the late 16th century. (Kirkus UK)

ISBN: 9780330372336
ISBN-10: 0330372335
Series: Revolutions Trilogy
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 208
Published: 1st December 2010
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 20.0 x 13.0  x 1.8
Weight (kg): 0.14
Edition Number: 1

John Banville

About the Author

John Banville also writes under the pseudonym Benjamin Black. CLICK HERE to see his Author Page

Irish novelist John Banville was born in Wexford in Ireland in 1945. He was educated at a Christian Brothers' school and St Peter's College in Wexford. He worked for Aer Lingus in Dublin, an opportunity that enabled him to travel widely. He was literary editor of the Irish Times between 1988 and 1999. Long Lankin, a collection of short stories, was published in 1970. It was followed by Nightspawn (1971) and Birchwood (1973), both novels.

Banville's fictional portrait of the 15th-century Polish astronomer Dr Copernicus (1976) won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize (for fiction) and was the first in a series of books exploring the lives of eminent scientists and scientific ideas. The second novel in the series was about the 16th-century German astronomer Kepler (1981) and won the Guardian Fiction Prize. The Newton Letter: An Interlude (1982), is the story of an academic writing a book about the mathematician Sir Isaac Newton. It was adapted as a film by Channel 4 Television. Mefisto (1986), explores the world of numbers in a reworking of Dr Faustus.

The Book of Evidence (1989), which won the Guinness Peat Aviation Book Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction, Ghosts (1993) and Athena (1995) form a loose trilogy of novels narrated by Freddie Montgomery, a convicted murderer. The central character of Banville's 1997 novel, The Untouchable, Victor Maskell, is based on the art historian and spy Anthony Blunt. Eclipse (2000), is narrated by Alexander Cleave, an actor who has withdrawn to the house where he spent his childhood. Shroud (2002), continues the tale begun in Eclipse and Prague Pictures: Portrait of a City (2003), is a personal evocation of the magical European city.

John Banville lives in Dublin. The Sea (2005) won the 2005 Man Booker Prize. In The Sea an elderly art historian loses his wife to cancer and feels compelled to revisit the seaside villa where he spent childhood holidays. His latest novel is The Infinities (2009).

Visit John Banville's Booktopia Author Page