+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Keep the Home Fires Burning - S. Block

Keep the Home Fires Burning

By: S. Block

Paperback

Published: 23rd May 2018
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $19.99
$14.25
29%
OFF

In Britain's darkest hour, an extraordinary community of women strives to protect the Home Front. When an enemy plane crashes in the village, every one of their lives will change forever...

Return to Great Paxford or join us for your very first visit.

Join Frances Barden, Sarah Collingborne, Pat Simms, Miriam Brindsley and the women of the Great Paxford Women's Institute as calamity hits their beloved village and they prove once again that when women work together they can surmount almost any challenge.

Frances struggles as her factory is shut down and her husband's secret child arrives at her door. Pat received a respite when her abusive husband went to cover the war, but now he's home. Newlyweds Teresa and Nick come under tremendous pressure due to the secret Teresa hides. Meanwhile, the life of the Campbell family is turned on its head as a serious illness runs its course, and Alison finds new purpose in helping the influx of strangers to the village.

Through it all the Women's Institute provides support and camaraderie. But is their combined strength enough to get them through the war?

Perfect for fans of Call the Midwife, Granchester and Foyles War. If you adore the novels of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costello and Daisy Styles then this is an unmissable series for you.

About the Author

S. Block, the creator and writer behind the Home Fires TV series watched by over six million viewers, is a BAFTA award-winning writer who's been nominated for the Royal Television Society Awards and the British Comedy Awards. He's worked on TV shows such as New Tricks, Lewis, Wire in the Blood, Hotel Babylon and The Inspector Lynley Mysteries.

Among other jobs he was an elephant keeper at London Zoo, a London bus driver and is the current director of the North London branch of The Samaritans. Simon was born in London and lives there with his wife and sons.

WRITE A REVIEW

Loved this

5

Finally got some more of Home Fires

NSW

true

Keep the Home Fires Burning

5.0 1

100.0

I very quickly became embroiled . . . a really enjoyable book. Greatly looking forward to the next one * Rosie Goodwin *

ISBN: 9781785763601
ISBN-10: 1785763601
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 512
Published: 23rd May 2018
Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 3.0
Weight (kg): 0.36