+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Kaija Saariaho : Sept Papillons for Solo Cello - Kaija Saariaho

Kaija Saariaho

Sept Papillons for Solo Cello

By: Kaija Saariaho (Composed by)

Paperback Published: 1st October 2004
ISBN: 9780711997448
Number Of Pages: 10

Share This Book:
Ships in 20 business days

Earn 52 Qantas Points
on this Book

(Music Sales America). This work was commissioned by Rudolf Steiner Foundation. It is dedicated to Anssi Karttunen, who gave the first performance in Helsinki on 10th September 2000. Sept papillons was the first piece Saariaho wrote after her opera L'Amour de loin and it was partly written during the rehearsals of the opera in Salzburg. One can sense the desire to find a new world, which has nothing to do with the opera neither in style nor in language. From the metaphors of the opera which all have an eternal quality love, yearning and death she moved now to a metaphor of the ephemeral: butterfly. Also, from the long time-spans of the opera she moved to these seven miniatures, which each seem to be studies on a different aspect of fragile and ephemeral movement that has no beginning nor end.

ISBN: 9780711997448
ISBN-10: 0711997446
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 10
Published: 1st October 2004
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 29.97 x 22.1  x 1.27
Weight (kg): 0.25

Earn 52 Qantas Points
on this Book