+612 9045 4394
Jazz : The Basics Series - Christopher Meeder


The Basics Series

Paperback Published: 19th December 2007
ISBN: 9780415966948
Number Of Pages: 278

Share This Book:


Ships in 15 business days

Jazz: The Basics gives a brief introduction to a century of jazz, ideal for students and interested listeners who want to learn more about this important musical style. The heart of the book traces jazz's growth from its folk origins through early recordings and New Orleans stars; the big-band and swing era; bebop; cool jazz and third stream; avant-garde; jazz-rock; and the neo-conservative movement of the 1980s and 1990s.

Key figures from each era including: Louis Armstrong, Benny Goodman, Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, and Wynton Marsalis are highlighted along with classic works. The book concludes with a list of the 100 essential recordings to own, along with a timeline and glossary. Jazz: The Basics serves as an excellent introduction to the players, the music, and the styles that make jazz 'America's classical music.'

About the Author

Christopher Meeder is a graduate of the Master's program in Jazz History and Research at Rutgers University, Newark. He is also an active freelance musician in jazz, classical, and rock contexts.

Introduction and Acknowledgments
Early Jazz Recordings
Louis Armstrong
The 1920s
The Swing Era
Big Bands
The Swing Era
Small Groups and Soloists
Bebop and the Moldy Figs
Charles Parker
Thelonious Monk
The 1950s: The Beginning of Jazz Postmodernism
Miles Davis
Avant-Garde Jazz of the 1950s and Early 1960s
John Coltrane
The 1960s
The 1960s
Free Jazz
The 1960s
Chicago and the AACM
Postbop Pianists
The 1980s and New Conservatism
The Genre Busters
Appendix: Recommended Recordings
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780415966948
ISBN-10: 0415966949
Series: Basics
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 278
Published: 19th December 2007
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.4 x 13.1  x 1.5
Weight (kg): 0.32
Edition Number: 1

This product is categorised by