+612 9045 4394
Japan - Restless Competitor : The Pursuit of Economic Nationalism - Malcolm Trevor

Japan - Restless Competitor

The Pursuit of Economic Nationalism

Hardcover Published: 25th May 2001
ISBN: 9781903350027
Number Of Pages: 300

Share This Book:


or 4 easy payments of $112.81 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

In this important new and controversial study about the nature and focus of the Japanese economic agenda, the author argues forcefully that the official mind-set of leading bureaucrats, top politicians and big business, makes it virtually impossible for the western industrialized world to do business on an equal footing. Put simply, it is a question of western free-market economics facing Japanese economic nationalism, which is, by its very nature, both an expansive and a protectionist ideology.
International observers continue to ask is Japan changing?' or more forcefully, is Japan capable of change?'. Notions of reform' and restructuring' are today part of the Japanese lexicon, but appear to hold little substance. Trevor argues that any western notion of Japan changing fundamentally (i.e. adopting western, or Anglo-Saxon, philosophies) is facile completely unrealistic. This book is for everyone who wonders what motivates Japan's politico-economic system, and whether it is changing.

A Crisis of Confidencep. 1
Myths and Realitiesp. 42
A 'New' Japan?p. 75
Power Holders - The Iron Trianglep. [s.n.]
The bureaucrats: policy-makers and regulatorsp. 137
Big business: work as national servicep. 161
The politicians: smoke-filled backroomsp. 180
Will It Ever Change?p. 210
Figure: Yen to the dollar 1949 to 2000p. 230
Japanese Termsp. 231
Referencesp. 233
Bibliographyp. 261
Indexp. 269
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9781903350027
ISBN-10: 1903350026
Series: Japan Library
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 300
Published: 25th May 2001
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.39 x 15.6  x 1.75
Weight (kg): 0.6
Edition Number: 1