+612 9045 4394
Janis : Little Girl Blue - Janis Joplin

DVD Released: 12th April 2017
Classification: M (Mature themes, drug references and coarse language)
Region: 4 (Australia & New Zealand)

Share This DVD:


RRP $29.95
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 20 Qantas Points
on this DVD

Janis Joplin is one of the most revered and iconic rock and roll singers of all time, a tragic and misunderstood figure who thrilled millions of listeners and blazed creative new trailers before her death in 1970, aged 27. Janis: Little Girl Blue examines Joplin's story in depth for the first time on film, presenting an intimate and insightful portrait of a complicated, driven, often beleaguered artist.

Joplin's own words tell much of the film's story through letters written to her parents, many of them made public for the first time (narrated by musician Chan Marshall). This correspondence is only one element of the stunning, previously unseen material on show, including new footage of Joplin in concert, in the studio and her emotional return to Texas for her High School reunion, as well as interviews with family, childhood friends and musical colleagues, which provide depth and texture to this remarkable story.

Janis: Little Girl Blue offers new understanding of a bright, complex woman whose surprising rise and sudden demise changed music forever.

Industry Reviews

"Documentary filmmaker Amy Berg (West of Memphis, Prophet's Prey) has made an elegant, affectionate and, in many ways, remarkably cheerful film about Janis Joplin." - Robert Lloyd, Los Angeles Times

"She emerges here as a raw and uncompromising talent; her voice tends towards a gravelly roar of rage and need." - Peter Bradshaw, Guardian

"Puts the music front and centre, where it belongs. A must for fans." - Alison Rowat, Sunday Herald

"Berg tells Joplin's story so well and lovingly that viewers feel close to her and her music. In this way, they suffer when Joplin suffers, and mourn her when she stops counting the raindrops." - Indra Arriaga, Anchorage Press

Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1
Barcode: 9317731125836
Classification: M (Mature themes, drug references and coarse language)
Encoding: PAL
Format: DVD
Language: English
Number of Discs: 1
Region: 4 (Australia & New Zealand)
Released: 12th April 2017
Running Time: 99.0 mins
Subtitles: Not Specified

Earn 20 Qantas Points
on this DVD

This product is categorised by