+612 9045 4394
Jane Austen : British Authors: - Yasmine Gooneratne

Jane Austen

British Authors:

Paperback Published: 31st January 1971
ISBN: 9780521096300
Number Of Pages: 204

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

A critical introduction to Jane Austen"s writings, which considers in turn her letters, the minor works and the six complete novels, Northanger Abbey, Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park, Emma and Persuasion. Biographical material has been kept to a minimum. Contemporary criticism is referred to where useful, but the aim of the book is to direct new and old readers of Jane Austen to the structure and intentions of the works themselves, to the richness and subtlety of their language and to the record they provide of the writer"s gradual achievement, through self-discipline and continuous experimentation, of artistic and emotional maturity. The books in the series British Authors: Introductory Critical Studies are aimed at the widest student readership and are all written by authors who have experience of university teaching outside Britain.

The Letters
The minor works
Northanger Abbey
Sense and Sensibility
Pride and Prejudice
Mansfield Park
Index of passages quoted
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521096300
ISBN-10: 0521096308
Series: British Authors:
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 204
Published: 31st January 1971
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.59 x 13.97  x 1.19
Weight (kg): 0.26