+612 9045 4394
Jancek's Works : A Catalogue of the Music and Writings of Leo Janacek - Nigel Simeone

Jancek's Works

A Catalogue of the Music and Writings of Leo Janacek

Hardcover Published: 1st September 1997
ISBN: 9780198164463
Number Of Pages: 500

Share This Book:


RRP $490.95
or 4 easy payments of $74.44 with Learn more
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Leos Janácek (1854--1928) is one of the few great opera composers of the twentieth century; his operas, orchestral, chamber, and vocal works are all part of the international repertory. This catalogue is by far the most comprehensive to appear in any language, with up-to-date and reliable information on all his works. Each entry provides detailed information on date of composition (and shows on what basis dating has been arrived at); source of text or programme; performing forces; duration; manuscripts and their locations; publication (a complete listing); performances and productions; dedication; literature. A special feature is the explanation of terms which may be unfamiliar to the western reader such as 'Glagolitic', 'Varyto', 'Lachian', and 'Indian Club Swinging'. This catalogue is also the first to include a complete, annotated list of the composer's varied and extensive writings.

Industry Reviews

`This new, much-needed Janacek catalog, superseding a number of useful if less than comprehensive previous attempts, is a remarkable piece of work and an extraordinary cooperative venture ... The three editors could hardly have been better suited to the task; each has had a very full career dedicated to the life and works of Janacek ... The wealth of information provided will serve scholars and students for years to come ... This comprehensive catalog is a stunning piece of work that succeeds form nearly every point of view. It will stand as a monument to scholarly precision and judgment well into the new millenium.' Jan Smaczny, Queen's University of Belfast June 1999

Prefacep. viii
Introductionp. x
Abbreviationsp. xxiii
Janáček's Worksp. xxxii
Stagep. 1
Liturgicalp. 61
Choral-Orchestralp. 75
Choralp. 97
Vocalp. 151
Orchestralp. 179
Chamberp. 213
Keyboardp. 239
Unfinishedp. 279
Lostp. 295
Plannedp. 323
Arrangements and Transcriptionsp. 331
Folk-Music Editionsp. 339
Spuriousp. 343
Writingsp. 355
Glossary of Moravian Dancesp. 447
Time-Line of Janáček's Compositionsp. 456
Bibliographyp. 467
Index of Compositionsp. 483
General Indexp. 497
Index of Writingsp. 511
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780198164463
ISBN-10: 0198164467
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 500
Published: 1st September 1997
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.39 x 15.6  x 3.18
Weight (kg): 1.05