+612 9045 4394
Jailbird : Vintage Classics - Kurt Vonnegut


Vintage Classics

Paperback Published: 17th September 1992
ISBN: 9780099999003
Number Of Pages: 288

Other Formats

Share This Book:
Ships in 15 business days

When Walter F. Starbuck, the least celebrated of the Watergate conspirators, is freed from jail after two years, his first 24 hours of freedom take shape with the unforeseen turns of fortune and moral innuendo of an urban fairytale. The author's other novels include "Slaughterhouse 5".

About the Author

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922 and studied biochemistry at Cornell University. During WWII, as a prisoner of war in Germany, he witnessed the destruction of Dresden by Allied bombers, an experience which inspired his novel SLAUGHTERHOUSE FIVE.

Industry Reviews

"As provoking, as amusing and as silver-tongued as anything Vonnegut has written" * New Statesman * "Jailbird has the crackle and snap of Vonnegut's early work - his best since Cat's Cradle. Using the laid-back, ironic voice that has become his stademark, Vonnegut combines fiction and fact to construct an ingenious, wry morality play" * Newsweek * "An overtly political novel attacking McCarthyism and Watergate" * Daily Telegraph * "After Vonnegut, everything else seems a bit tame" * Spectator *

ISBN: 9780099999003
ISBN-10: 0099999005
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 17th September 1992
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 13.1  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.21
Edition Number: 1

Kurt Vonnegut

About the Author

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922. He studied at the universities of Chicago and Tennessee and later began to write short stories for magazines. His first novel, Player Piano, was published in 1951 and since then he has written many novels, among them: The Sirens of Titan (1959), Mother Night (1961), Cat's Cradle (1963), God Bless You Mr Rosewater (1964), Welcome to the Monkey House ; a collection of short stories (1968), Breakfast of Champions (1973), Slapstick , or Lonesome No More (1976), Jailbird (1979), Deadeye Dick (1982), Galapagos (1985), Bluebeard (1988) and Hocus Pocus (1990). During the Second World War he was held prisoner in Germany and was present at the bombing of Dresden, an experience which provided the setting for his most famous work to date, Slaughterhouse Five (1969). He has also published a volume of autobiography entitled Palm Sunday (1981) and a collection of essays and speeches, Fates Worse Than Death (1991).

Visit Kurt Vonnegut's Booktopia Author Page