+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Jacques Maritain : The Philosopher in Society - James V. Schall

Jacques Maritain

The Philosopher in Society

Paperback

Published: 28th March 1998
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
$52.14

The mind of French philosopher Jacques Maritain reflected on subjects as varied as art and ethics, theology and psychology, history and metaphysics. Maritain's work on the theoretical groundings of politics arose from his diverse studies. In this book, theologian and political scientist James V. Schall explores Maritain's political philosophy, demonstrating that Maritain understood society, state, and government within the framework of natural law and human rights and duties, in the tradition of Aristotic and Aquinas. Schall pays particular attention to the ways in which evil appears in political forms and how this evil can be dealt with morally. Schall's study will be of great importance to students and scholars of political science, philosophy, and theology.

Clear and solid. . . . A very valuable contribution to political philosophy.--Gerald A. McCool, S.J., Fordham University "International Philosophical Quarterly "

Acknowledgments
Introduction
Justice, Brains, and Strength: Machiavelli and Modernity in Political Philosophyp. 1
On the Relation Between Art and Politicsp. 21
On the Political Importance of the Philosophic Lifep. 39
On Defining Political Thingsp. 59
The Natural Law - Natural Right Dilemmap. 79
Democracy: Anthropocentric and Christian?p. 99
The Authority of Freedom and the Freedom of Authorityp. 121
The Friendship that Leads to Law and Justicep. 141
Maritain on the Enigma and Intelligibility of Evilp. 161
Maritain on "The Mystery of Israel"p. 181
The Possibility of a World Common Goodp. 201
Conclusionp. 221
Bibliographyp. 227
Indexp. 235
About the Authorp. 243
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780847686841
ISBN-10: 0847686841
Series: 20th Century Political Thinkers
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 272
Published: 28th March 1998
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 22.76 x 14.96  x 1.52
Weight (kg): 0.35
Edition Number: 4