+612 9045 4394
Ives: Concord Sonata : Piano Sonata No. 2 - Professor Geoffrey Block

Ives: Concord Sonata

Piano Sonata No. 2

Paperback Published: 3rd February 1997
ISBN: 9780521498210
Number Of Pages: 128

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Hardcover View Product Published: 7th February 2012

Charles Ives's massive Concord Sonata, his second sonata for piano, named after the town of Concord in Massachusetts, is central to his output and clearly reflects his aesthetic perspective. Geoffrey Block's wide-ranging account of the work thus provides an ideal introduction to this fascinating composer. As well as a discussion of the Sonata's reception history from 1920 to the present, and a chapter on its compositional genesis, this handbook includes a detailed narrative of the motivic content as well as a historical and analytical survey of the work's borrowings, both certifiable and newly proposed. The programmatic element of the Sonata is explored in the context of Ives's personal vision of four literary subjects associated with the town of Concord between 1840 and 1860: Emerson, Thoreau, Hawthorne, and the Alcotts.

Form and design
The programme
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521498210
ISBN-10: 052149821X
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 128
Published: 3rd February 1997
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.36 x 13.51  x 0.71
Weight (kg): 0.15
Edition Number: 2