+612 9045 4394
Ives: Concord Sonata : Piano Sonata No. 2 - Geoffrey Holden Block

Ives: Concord Sonata

Piano Sonata No. 2

Hardcover Published: 7th February 2012
ISBN: 9780521496568
Number Of Pages: 128

Share This Book:


RRP $175.00
or 4 easy payments of $39.31 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 3rd February 1997

Charles Ives's massive Concord Sonata, his second sonata for piano, named after the town of Concord in Massachusetts, is central to his output and clearly reflects his aesthetic perspective. Geoffrey Block's wide-ranging account of the work thus provides an ideal introduction to this fascinating composer. As well as a discussion of the Sonata's reception history from 1920 to the present, and a chapter on its compositional genesis, this handbook includes a detailed narrative of the motivic content as well as a historical and analytical survey of the work's borrowings, both certifiable and newly proposed. The programmatic element of the Sonata is explored in the context of Ives's personal vision of four literary subjects associated with the town of Concord between 1840 and 1860: Emerson, Thoreau, Hawthorne, and the Alcotts.

Form and design
The programme
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521496568
ISBN-10: 052149656X
Series: Cambridge Music Handbooks
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 128
Published: 7th February 2012
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.25 x 14.35  x 1.3
Weight (kg): 0.23
Edition Number: 2