+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
In Our Mad and Furious City : Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018 - Guy Gunaratne

In Our Mad and Furious City

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018

Paperback Published: 8th May 2018
ISBN: 9781472250209
Number Of Pages: 304

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $32.99
$24.90
25%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY follows three young men on a London council estate over 48 hours when suddenly everything is at stake.

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut In Our Mad And Furious City is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of The Bricks That Built The Houses or This Is England.

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, In Our Mad And Furious City announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

About the Author

Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London and has worked as a designer, documentary filmmaker and video journalist covering post-conflict areas around the world, as well as co-founding two technology companies. He was shortlisted for the 4th Estate/Guardian Books B4ME Short Story Prize.

A timely read, addressing the urgent questions of our divided society. We're sure Guy is set for big things - Metro

It hooked me right from the start and never let go. It really is a very special book - the book we've all been waiting for

Guy's characters are drawn with compassion and flair, and I was captivated by their humanity

Guy Gunaratne tells a compelling tale. He channels the language of the street while handling complex narrative structures with heady flair. He is plainly a talent to watch

ISBN: 9781472250209
ISBN-10: 1472250206
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 8th May 2018
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 15.2  x 2.2
Weight (kg): 0.39
Edition Number: 1

This product is categorised by