+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
I'm Just No Good At Rhyming : And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups - Chris Harris

I'm Just No Good At Rhyming

And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups

By: Chris Harris, Lane Smith (Illustrator)

Hardcover Published: 31st October 2017
ISBN: 9781509881048
Number Of Pages: 192
For Ages: 7 - 99 years old

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $29.99
$24.75
17%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Forget what you think you know about poetry - this is something totally different. Chris Harris's I'm Just No Good At Rhyming combines wit, wordplay and nonsense with visual and verbal tricks to make you look at the world in a new and wonderfully upside-down way, reminiscent of Shel Silverstein.

This entirely unique collection offers a surprise around every corner, from the ongoing rivalry between the author and illustrator, to the mysteriously misnumbered pages that can only be deciphered by a certain code-cracking verse, to a poem that is 100% genuinely infinite. Adding to the fun: Lane Smith, winner of the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal for There Is a Tribe of Kids, has spectacularly illustrated this extraordinary collection with nearly one hundred pieces of appropriately absurd art. It's a mischievous match made in heaven and the perfect gift for kids age seven and up.

About the Author

Chris Harris is a writer and executive producer for How I Met Your Mother and a writer for The Late Show with David Letterman. His pieces have appeared in The New Yorker, Esquire, ESPN, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and on NPR. He lives in Los Angeles.

Lane Smith is the creator of It's a Book, It's a Little Book, Grandpa Green and A Perfect Day. In 2017 he won the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal for There Is a Tribe of Kids. Lane Smith and his wife, the designer Molly Leach, live in a small town in rural Connecticut, USA.

WRITE A REVIEW

Purchased this book as gift for 8 yr old girl

5

I loved this book - bought as gift for child - read it all myself- fun!!

Heathcote

true

I'm Just No Good At Rhyming

5.0 1

100.0

The best poetry book of the year * The BookBag * A magnificently wacky romp through verse... This moving, madcap anthem to language is sure to stand the test of time * Booklist * Those who claim to hate poetry will enjoy this riotous compilation.... Fans of Ogden Nash, Shel Silverstein, and Jack Prelutsky will rejoice in finding another member of their gang. Smith matches Harris's wit with his own zaniness.... A surefire winner * School Library Journal * Hits a poetry trifecta: high energy, rhymes that can rival Cole Porter's, and a torrent of ideas.... A worthy heir to Silverstein, Seuss, and even Ogden Nash * Publishers Weekly * A frolicking romp through the zany world of nonsense verse...wildly imaginative and cleverly illustrated. The inspired and inspiring sense of play knows no bounds. * Kirkus * Chris Harris is a poet and everyone should know it! Love this book! -- Andrea Beaty, author of Rosie Revere, Engineer There once was a poet named Chris, Whose book is quite hard to dismiss, His poetry skill Gives me quite a thrill And it's hard to write poetry, particularly if it's supposed to rhyme or fit into a certain rhythm, and if you don't believe me, take a look at this. -- Lemony Snicket, author of A Series of Unfortunate Events I am a grown man and this book made me laugh out loud. When I was a kid, this was the kind of book that made me want to make comedy. -- Jason Segel, actor, screenwriter, producer, star of How I Met Your Mother I'm just no good at describing how wonderful this book is. Smart and sweet, wild and wicked, brilliantly funny - it's everything a book for kids should be. -- BJ Novak, author of The Book With No Pictures Chris Harris is one of the funniest, sharpest, cleverest (not a word) writers I've ever known (and I'm not just saying that because we share a last name). This book made me laugh and laugh and laugh. I can't recommend it enough -- Neil Patrick Harris, actor, author, star of How I Met Your Mother Highly recommended. I think it will make children wriggle with delight * Stephen Fry *

Chapter - 1: The Abdominal SnowmanChapter - 2: Alphabet Book (by the Laziest Artist in the World)Chapter - 3: The ArgumentChapter - 4: The Child's FarewellChapter - 5: Chocolate for BreakfastChapter - 6: A Cold-Air BalloonChapter - 7: The Cyclops Just Got GlassesChapter - 8: Deep in the Land of Ca'narotChapter - 9: Disneyland Had Nothing on This PlaceChapter - 10: The DoorChapter - 11: The DuelChapter - 12: EightChapter - 13: Even the ButterflyChapter - 14: Fight Fire with Fire?Chapter - 15: The Frog RaceChapter - 16: The GeckoChapter - 17: The Good-Child TestChapter - 18: Good ThingsChapter - 19: Grown-Ups Are Better (I)Chapter - 20: Grown-Ups Are Better (II)Chapter - 21: Grown-Ups Are Better (III)Chapter - 22: Hey, Kids! Get Your Parents to Read You This Poem!Chapter - 23: Hey, We Finally Found Someone Who Knows That Story About the Snail Who Saved San Francisco!Chapter - 24: How the Fourth-Grader CommunicatesChapter - 25: How to Designate an UngulateChapter - 26: The Hungry GiraffeChapter - 27: I Am Not Even Going to Talk About This Next ThingChapter - 28: I Don't Like My IllustratorChapter - 29: I Love QuietChapter - 30: The Ice Cream MondaeChapter - 31: If You Ever Have to Memorize a Poem of Twenty Lines or Longer and Deliver It to Your Class, Then This Is a Pretty Good ChoiceChapter - 32: I'm Always Happy in My RoomChapter - 33: I'm Just No Good at RhymingChapter - 34: I'm Old for My AgeChapter - 35: I'm Shy on the OutsideChapter - 36: The Incredible BargainChapter - 37: The Incredible Story of the Day the Glistening City of San Francisco Was Saved from Certain Destruction by a Lowly SnailChapter - 38: Infinity PoemChapter - 39: The Invisible HorseChapter - 40: The Island Where Everyone's TobyChapter - 41: Jack Makes a Fatal Strategic BlunderChapter - 42: Jack Sprat (Updated)Chapter - 43: Jigsaw Puzzle Difficulty ChartChapter - 44: Just Be YourselfChapter - 45: Just Because I'm a Turkey Sandwich and Some Chips Doesn't Mean I Don't Have Feelings Too, You Know! Chapter - 46: The Last Time I Ever Went Down to Breakfast Without Making My BedChapter - 47: The Latest Bedtime of AllChapter - 48: The Lemonade Stand StandChapter - 49: Let's Meet Right Here in Twenty-Five YearsChapter - 50: The Little HurtsChapter - 51: Live Each Day Like It's Your LastChapter - 52: The Loser's CheerChapter - 53: L-O-V-EChapter - 54: LuckChapter - 55: The Monster Under My Bed Instead Is DeadChapter - 56: Moral: If It's Not Your Magic Wand, Leave It AloneChapter - 57: My Dessert TummyChapter - 58: Never Switch Your Laundry Detergent with Your Dishwasher DetergentChapter - 59: The New Bad WordChapter - 60: Nothing Is Impossible (The Teacher and the Child)Chapter - 61: Nothing Rhymes with DuthingChapter - 62: The Nursery Rhyme "Little Boy Blue", With Some Words Replaced by Delicious Greek FoodChapter - 63: The Old Woman Who Lived in AchooChapter - 64: On My Intentions of Expanding My Experiences Eating Garden Cuisine, with an Approximate Time Frame IncludedChapter - 65: On the Other Hand, They Both Hate DandelionsChapter - 66: The One-Eyed OrrChapter - 67: Out on the Farm on a Saturday NightChapter - 68: The Parent's ResponseChapter - 69: Picture Puzzle!Chapter - 70: The Poem That's Titled "The Door"Chapter - 71: The Poem That's Titled "The Poem That's Titled `The Door'"Chapter - 72: The Poem That's Titled "The Poem That's Titled `The Poem That's Titled "The Door"'"Chapter - 73: The Poem That's Titled "The Poem That's Titled `The Poem That's Titled "The Poem That's Titled `The Door'"'"Chapter - 74: The RaceChapter - 75: The Remarkable AgeChapter - 76: Re-verse Chapter - 77: Roller Coaster + Earthquake = ?Chapter - 78: The Rules of "TIC"Chapter - 79: Sally the Centipede Gets Her Shoes On to Take a Walk with Her MumChapter - 80: The Secret of My ArtChapter - 81: A Short SagaChapter - 82: The Shortest Anaconda in the WorldChapter - 83: Somebody Stole My Bagel's HoleChapter - 84: Sometimes I Don't Want to ShareChapter - 85: The Sweetest Lullaby Ever (for Parents to Tell Their Children)Chapter - 86: Ten Ginormous Hippos Jumped on a BedChapter - 87: 'Tis BetterChapter - 88: Toasted Knight for Lunch Again?Chapter - 89: Trapped!Chapter - 90: Two RoadsChapter - 91: Under My Dragon's WingChapter - 92: Unfair Riddle #1Chapter - 93: Unfair Riddle #2Chapter - 94: Unfair Riddle #3Chapter - 95: The UnipedeChapter - 96: The Valleys Shape the MountainsChapter - 97: The Way We're All the SameChapter - 98: What? You Think I Have a Bad Memory?Chapter - 99: What Happened to Us Monsters? (The Mummy's Lament)Chapter - 100: The Whydoo Inside YouChapter - 101: The World's Best OfferChapter - 102: Worst. Birthday Party. Ever.Chapter - 103: Yes Means No and No Means YesChapter - 104: Yesterday's TomorrowChapter - 105: You'll Never Feel as Tall as When You're Ten

ISBN: 9781509881048
ISBN-10: 1509881042
Audience: Children
For Ages: 7 - 99 years old
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 192
Published: 31st October 2017
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 18.4  x 2.1
Weight (kg): 0.68